Skip navigation

Subject Guides - Primary Sources

Find Books & Journals:

Use catalogusmai

Find Electronic Journals:

Use Research Port

Off Campus Access:

Instructions

Borrow From Other Libraries:

Use Interlibrary Loan

Contact YOUR Librarian:

Drew Alfgren

Primary sources are original accounts of historical events. Primary sources may include diaries, letters, newspaper articles, speeches, interviews, oral histories, and other sources.

Primary Sources in catalogUSMAI

  • [example] Primary sources for the Byzantine / Roman / and other early periods can be found in catalogUSMAI by doing a keyword search on 'byzantine' (or other period) AND 'sources or documents'. This pulls up collections of documents in translation. Using an author, say Thucydides (historian of the Peloponnesian War), is even better. The same search works equally well in Worldcat

    Primary Sources
  • More focused searches can be done using the subject search in the catalog and specific events or periods. The terms 'papers', 'diaries', as well as 'sources or documents' will also produce primary source records.

    Primary Sources

Primary Sources at the Kuhn Library

Primary sources available in the Kuhn Library include photography, manuscript and newspaper collections held in Special Collections. Finding aids and indexes include:

University Archives

Photography Finding Aids & Digital Image Collections

Regional Archives, Personal Papers, Literary Manuscripts Newspapers (including the Baltimore Sun)

Online Primary Source Collections

Selected websites that include or index primary source material.
  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

    Updated monthly. Provides searchable full text access to the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Part I, II and III are included.

  • Free online resource American Memory Collection [Library of Congress]

    Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets music and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.

  • Free online resource Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy

    The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.

  • Free online resource Comprehensive Guide to the Manuscript Collections at the Maryland Historical Society

    This guide represents a combination of two previously published works: Avril J. M. Pedley, comp., The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1968) and Richard J. Cox and Larry E. Sullivan, eds., Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1981).

  • Free online resource Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland [ Queen's University, Belfast]

    EPPI Project features a comprehensive searchable database of Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland 1801-1922, with bibliographic information, Library of Congress subject descriptors and, for a significant selection of items, abstracts of contents.

  • Free online resource In the First Person : An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives.

    In the First Person provides in-depth indexing of collections of oral history in English from around the world. It allows for keyword searching of more than 300,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life.

  • Free online resource Making of America (MOA)

    Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

  • Free online resource National Security Archive at George Washington University

    The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy

  • Available to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff New York Times Historical (Proquest)

    Offers full page and article images from 1851-2001 with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

  • Free online resource NSA Declassified Documents

    NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. Full text docs listed on this page include those related to Vietnam (Tonkin Gulf) UFO projects, Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy assassination, more.

  • Free online resource NSA Historical Publications

    Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.

  • Free online resource Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810

    Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior

  • Free online resource Teaching American History in Maryland: Documents for the Classroom

    Teaching American History in Maryland makes facsimiles of original documents available for use by teachers and students in elementary and secondary schools, and colleges and universities. All materials are intended for educational and research purposes.


Subject Guides

Africana Studies

Aging Studies & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Athletics

Biological Sciences

Business and Economics

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

Dance

Education

Engineering

English

Film Reviews

Geography & Environmental Systems

Government Resources

Historical Studies

Information Systems

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

Mathematics and Statistics

Model UN Research

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

Philosophy

Physics

Plays & Play Reviews

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

Religious and Judaic Studies

Social Work

Sociology

Tests and Measurements

Theatre

Women's Studies

Class Guides

Related Resources

Research Help Guides