Theatre Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Eric Jeitner
email: ejeitner@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Article Databases
Use these resources to access citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Literature Resource Center
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MLA International Bibliography offers detailed records of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's. The bibliography contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
Project Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
RILM is a comprehensive index to music publications from all over the world, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, criticism, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
All Online Theatre Resources

