Social Work Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Is my journal peer reviewed?
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Katy Sullivan
email: sullivan@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3604
Article Databases - Social Work
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Coverage: 1600-2000
Database of books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies of all aspects of American Women's public lives and political activities.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
America: History & Life (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
top of page
RSS Feeds - Social Work Journals
Subscribe to these feeds and have the table of contents and full text articles (of UMBC-subscribed journals) delivered to you desktop through a feed reader.- Clinical Social Work Journal
- International Social Work
- Journal of Social Work
- Research on Social Work Practice
top of page
All Online Social Work Resources

