Sociology Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Joanna Gadsby
email: gadsby@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2358
Article Databases
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on your subject.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Medline (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Coverage: varies
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Coverage: Index Only
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.
top of page
All Online Sociology Resources

