Public Policy Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Dissertations
- Government Resources
- Statistical Resources
- Professional Organizations
- Newspapers
Professional Organizations & Research Institutes
These organizations may help you in whatever you're doing.- American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
The web site for this nonpartisan think tank includes commentary and analysis from AEI scholars, speeches and testimony before Congressional committees, excerpts from recent AEI conferences, and essay-length abstracts of AEI books. Articles are also arranged by research areas.
- American Society for Public Administration
In addition to membership and chapter information, this site contains information about conference papers, job listings, abstracts of recent articles from the Public Administration Review, and full-text articles from the PA Times.
- Brookings Insitution
An independent, nonpartisan organization devoted to research, analysis, and public education with an emphasis on economics, foreign policy, governance, and metropolitan policy.
- Economic Policy Institute
Nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank that focuses on economic issues. A highlight of its web page is the DataZone, which includes 50 tables which track historical trends in labor markets and living standards. You can also find economic indicators, issue guides, economic snapshots, and viewpoints.
- National Academy of Public Administration
NAPA is an independent, nonpartisan organization chartered by Congress to assist federal, state, and local governments improve their effectiveness, efficiency, and accountability. Web page includes information about current projects, publications and discussion forums.
- National Center for Policy Analysis
Includes in-depth analysis and fulltext reports on issues such as taxes, health care, Social Security and welfare. Also includes a Daily Policy Digest.
- Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, nonprofit research organization provides issue guides on topics such as Medicare, welfare, the federal budget and Social Security. Each guide contains an overview of the issue; a news digest of recent news, legislation, cases and studies; various perspectives on the issue; a fact file with charts and graphs; and analyses of related public opinion drawn from major public opinion polls.
- Rand Corporation
The mission of the non-partisan RAND is to improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
- The Urban Institute
Research concerning the nation's social and economic problems and the government policies and public and private programs designed to alleviate them.
All Online Public Policy Resources
