Public Policy Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Joanna Gadsby
email: gadsby@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2358
Article Databases - Public Policy
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources subjects related to public policy.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Coverage: Index Only
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
top of page
Article Databases - Economics
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on subjects related to economics.
EconLit (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Economics Research Network (ERN)
Coverage: varies
SSRN community for economics scholars, practitioners, and policymakers throughout the world. Includes job listings and links to NBER working papers. New users join here.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Coverage: March 1998 - present
Full-text of working papers from NBER, a private, nonpartisan research organization. Research is conductied by more than 500 university professors around the country. Papers are listed by topic under "PROGRAMS"
top of page
Article Databases - Education
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on subjects related to education.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
top of page
Article Databases - Health & Medicine
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on subjects related to health and medicine.
Medline (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CINAHLŽ provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
top of page
Article Databases - Political Science
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on subjects related to political science.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Coverage: 1991 - present
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Coverage: 1975-current
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
top of page
Article Databases - Social Services
Search tools for finding journal articles and other types of resources on subjects related to sociology and social services.
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts current research on social work and human services, including social welfare, social policy, community development, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty and homelessness.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
top of page
All Online Public Policy Resources

