Skip navigation

Primary Sources Subject Guide

Contact YOUR Librarian:

Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608

Classical Authors and Texts

The following list of classical historians, commentators and titles is representative only. Use the CatalogUSMAI to search for other authors or holdings in all the USM libraries. Works listed here have the Kuhn Library call number, which may be different at other campuses. Search by author and/or title if the work here is missing or checked out. Full text links are to sample works, other online editions or titles may also be available.

Herodotus (~480-425 BCE)
The landmark Herodotus:the histories [UMBC D58.H4713 2007]
The histories; translated by Robin Waterfield ; with an introduction and notes by Carolyn Dewald [UMBC D58.H3313 1998]
The histories of Herodotus... [from the Hathi Trust]
Thucydides (~460 BCE)
The complete writings of Thucydides: the Peloponnesian War. The unabridged Crawley translation... [UMBC DF229.T5C7 1951b]
The history of the Peloponnesian war, by Thucydides. A new and literal version... [from the Hathi Trust]
Speeches from Thucydides, tr. into English for the use of students... [from the Hathi Trust]
Xenophon (~365 BCE)
A history of my times (Hellenica). Translated by Rex Warner [UMBC DF229.X413 1979]
Hellenica by Xenophon {from Project Gutenberg]
Polybius (~200 BCE)
Polybius’ Histories [UMBC D58.P8M35 2010]
The histories of Polybius [from the Hathi Trust]
Julius Caesar (102?-44 BCE)
Alexandrian, African and Spanish wars [UMBC PA6156.C17 1955]
Episodes from the Gallic and the civil wars [UMBC PA6165 .C23 1905]
Caesar's Gallic war [from the Hathi Trust]
De Bello Gallico and Other Commentaries [from Project Gutenberg]
Cicero, Marcus Tullius (106-43 BCE)
Cicero: selected works. Translated with an introduction by Michael Grant [UMBC PA6278.A4 1967]
Cicero:letters to friends [UMBC PA6308.E5 S45 2001]
Cicero's Brutus or History of Famous Orators, also His Orator, or Accomplished Speaker [from Project Gutenberg]
The Letters of Cicero [from Project Gutenberg]
Diodorus Siculus (~90-30 BCE)
The antiquities of Egypt:a translation with notes of book I of the Library of history, of Diodorus Siculus [UMBC PA3965.D4 E5 1990]
The antiquities of Asia : a translation with notes of book II of the Library of history, of Diodorus Siculus [UMBC PA3965.D4 E5 1989]
The Historical Library of Diodorus the Sicilian [from the Hathi Trust]
The Library of History [from Bill Thayer hosted by the University of Chicago]
Sallust (86-35 BCE)
The Jugurthine War. The conspiracy of Catiline. [UMBC DG207.S4H3]
Sallust, with an English translation by J.C. Rolfe [UMBC PA6156.S3 1960]
Conspiracy of CAtiline and the Jugurthine War [from Project Gutenberg]
The Works of Sallust [from the Hathi Trust]
Livy (Titus Livius, 59-17 BCE)
The dawn of the Roman empire [UMBC DG247.L5513 2000]
The history of Rome [UMBC DG207.L5 B3 1861]
Selections from Livy [from the Hathi Trust]
The Hannibalian war [from the Hathi Trust]
Josephus, Flavius (~37-100 CE)
Complete works of Flavius Josephus...[UMBC DS116.J7]
The works of Flavius Josephus [from the Hathi Trust]
The wars of the Jews [from the Hathi Trust]
Plutarch (~45-120 CE)
The age of Alexander : nine Greek lives [UMBC DF208 .P5513 1973]
Fall of the Roman Republic : Marius, Sulla, Crassus, Pompey, Caesar Cicero: six lives [UMBC DG260.A1P53 1972]
Plutarch's lives [from the Hathi Trust]
Tacitus (~56-120 CE)
Agricola and Germany [UMBC DG291.7.A2T313 1999]
The annals and The histories [UMBC AC1.G72 v.15]
Agricola and Germania [from the Hathi Trust]
Tacitus: The Histories, Volumes I and II [from Project Gutenberg]
Appianus (~90-160 CE)
Appian’s Roman history [UMBC PA3612.A64 1955]
The Roman history of Appian of Alexandria [from the Hathi Trust]
Eusebius (~260-339 CE)
The ecclesiastical history [UMBC BR60.F3E87]
The history of the church from Christ to Constantine [UMBC BR160.E5E5 1989]
The ecclesiastical history of Eusebius. The first book and selections... [from the Hathi Trust]

Online Primary Source Collections

Selected websites that include or index primary source material.
  • Off-campus access restricted to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Old English Corpus

    The Corpus comprises over 3000 different texts (all surviving OE material, excluding some variant texts).

  • Free online resource Making of America (MOA)

    Coverage: 19th c. books and aricles
    Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

  • Free online resource Aesopica: Aesop's Fables in English, Latin and Greek

    Coverage: Full Text
    Index to and English translations of Aesop's Fables from Latin and Greek along with detailed information on historical editions of the published fables.

  • Off-campus access restricted to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2008)

    Coverage: Full Text
    New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2008. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

  • Free online resource Teaching American History in Maryland: Documents for the Classroom

    Coverage: 17th c.-
    Teaching American History in Maryland makes facsimiles of original documents available for use by teachers and students in elementary and secondary schools, and colleges and universities. All materials are intended for educational and research purposes.

  • Free online resource American Memory Collection [Library of Congress]

    Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets music and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.

  • Free online resource Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, & Diplomacy

    The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.

  • Free online resource British Parliamentary Papers: Enhanced Parliamentary Papers on Ireland 1801 - 1922

    Coverage: Some Full Text
    The bibliographic records and searchable PDFs of the EPPI are now available for most of the collection through the University of Southampton Library WebCat. No login is required. Scroll to the list of work examples and follow the link to the catalog.

  • Free online resource In the First Person : An index to letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives.

    Coverage: Some Full Text
    In the First Person provides in-depth indexing of collections of oral history in English from around the world. It allows for keyword searching of more than 300,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life.

  • Free online resource National Security Archive at George Washington University

    Coverage: current
    The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy

  • Free online resource Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810

    Coverage: Full Text
    Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior

  • Free online resource NSA Declassified Documents

    Coverage: 1940-current
    NSA/CSS periodically releases declassified documents or indexes to these documents to the public. Full text docs listed on this page include those related to Vietnam (Tonkin Gulf) UFO projects, Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy assassination, more.

  • Free online resource NSA Historical Publications

    Coverage: 18th-current
    Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.

  • Free online resource Comprehensive Guide to the Manuscript Collections at the Maryland Historical Society

    Coverage: Index Only
    This guide represents a combination of two previously published works: Avril J. M. Pedley, comp., The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1968) and Richard J. Cox and Larry E. Sullivan, eds., Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1981).

  • Free online resource British History Online

    Coverage: Some Full Text
    A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. UMBC access is available only for the free content.

  • Free online resource Nuremberg Trials Project: A digitial document collection

    Coverage: Full Text
    Offers access to approx. one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).

  • Free online resource Old Bailey Online: The Proceedings of the Old Bailey 1674-1913

    Coverage: Full Text
    A fully searchable edition of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. The project is a collaboration between the Open University, and the Universities of Hertfordshire and Sheffield.

  • Free online resource Religious Texts. Compendium of Muslim Texts

    Coverage: Full Text
    The Compendium of Muslim Texts has been one of the most frequently cited sources of hadith and is the most complete compilation of hadith available to the public. A searchable database of both compilations is available.

  • Free online resource CyberCemetery [Archive of government websites that have ceased operation]

    Coverage: Full Text
    The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).

  • Free online resource Government Documents A-to-Z Digitization Project [University of North Texas]

    Coverage: Full Text
    The A-to-Z Project offers access to digitized pre-1960 government documents. The project is being done alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents. By popular demand, the A-to-Z Collection also contains vintage War Department field manuals and technical manuals.

  • Free online resource London Lives 1690-1840: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis [archive]

    Coverage: Full Text
    Provides a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners including parish archives and criminal, coroner, guild and hospital records.

  • Free online resource Ferdinand C. Latrobe Papers [digital collection]

    This selection from the Ferdinand C. Latrobe papers includes his hand- written speeches, with some composed during his terms as the Mayor of Baltimore City. The speeches discuss a wide-range of topics, pertinent to both local and national politics and events. Speeches discussing Latrobe’s position on slavery, the Emancipation Proclamation, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Jackson, and the Pure Foods Movement have a national scope; his speeches regarding the Maryland Board of State Aid and Charities, the Baltimore “Illumination” festival, Maryland history, and various aspects of Baltimore City civic and municipal improvements showcase Latrobe’s participation and interest in many aspects of Baltimore politics and city life. Although some are incomplete or drafts, all of the speeches are written in Latrobe’s hand; additional printed speeches are available in the Ferdinand C. Latrobe papers. This selection is drawn from Series I.9, Speeches; a full finding aid for the collection is available on UMBC’s Special Collections website.


Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery

Athletics

C

Career Resources

Civil & Environmental Engineering

F

Film Reviews

G

Government Information Sources

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Medicine & Health

P

Primary Sources

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

Related Resources

Research Guides & Tutorials