Political Science Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Almanacs & Yearbooks
- Newspapers
- Government Resources
- Statistical Resources
- Public Opinion & Elections
Statistical Resources (Electronic)
Access statistical tables and materials on political science and related topics.
ICPSR Archive Coverage: varies
Search and request data sets relevant to political science, sociology, women's studies, etc. from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. See also UMBC's ICPSR Gateway.
LexisNexis Statistical 
Coverage: current
Includes these major statistical publications: ASI, SRI and IIS; Abstracts and indexes federal, international, state and privately published statistics; some hypertext links to agency Websites with full-text of the publication.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version) Coverage: 1881-present
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents.
top of page
Statistical Resources (Print)
Use these print publications located in the Library's Reference Collection to access current international statistics.
Demographic Yearbook / Annuaire Démographique.
1948 to current.
Location: Reference HA17 .D45
A comprehensive collection of international demographic statistics. Includes trends in population, natality, mortality, nuptiality and divorce
The Europa World Year Book.
1989 to current.
Location: Reference JN1 .E85
Contains surveys of individual countries that include an overview of the history, economic affairs, the government, defense, and education; along with extensive statistics
National Accounts of OECD Countries.
1964 to current.
Location: Reference HC79.I5 N376
Contain detailed economic data for OECD member countries. Statistics include: GDP, disposable income, population and employment, specific industry data, consumption expenditures, and more
Statistical Yearbook / Annuaire Statistique.
1948 to current.
Location: Reference HA12.5 .U63
Includes individual country statistics on population and society, economic activity, and international economic relations
World Development Indicators.
1998 to current.
Location: Reference HC59.15 .W656
Includes statistics on people, the environment, the economy, states and market, and global links
top of page
All Online Political Science Resources
