Physics Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Article Databases - Physics
These databases index and abstract physics journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports and dissertations/theses.
INSPEC (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Inspec®,provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Inspec coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
arXiv.org e-Print archive
Coverage: Full Text
Open access e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Coverage: Index Only
Abstracts for over 4 million journal articles, conference proceedings, NASA reports, newsletters and theses in astronomy, astrophysics, geophysics, physics and instrumentation.
top of page
Article Databases - Related Subjects
Use these to find physics-related articles.
ARIBIB [ARI Bibliographical Database for Astronomical References]
Coverage: Index Only
ARIBIB is an online bibliographic database for astronomical references. Search astronomy literature from 1898 through the middle of the year 2000.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
MathSci Net
Coverage: Index Only
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Use these to find articles on a wide variety of topics.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
top of page
Electronic Journal Collections
Online, full-text journals.
American Institute of Physics Journals Online
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search Scitation, an online database of scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications. Includes full-text of some journals published by the American Institute of Physics.
IEEE Xplore
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
Optics InfoBase
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search and access the full text of JOSA A, JOSA B, Optics Letters, Optics Express, JOSA (1917-1984), Applied Optics, J. Lightwave Technology, J. Optical Technology, J. Optical Networking and Optics and Photonics News.
ACM Digital Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search across Journals, Magazines, Transactions, Proceedings (including USENIX), Newsletters and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) in the ACM Digital Library. Now includes indexing for non-ACM publications: use Find It for full text availability.
ACS Electronic Journals
Coverage: Full Text
Search all 35 peer-reviewed journals and other publications of the American Chemical Society. Journals cover 7 core chemistry categories plus 8 additional categories. Topics: chemistry, biochemistry, chemical neuroscience, industrial & engineering chemistry, physical chemistry, food chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and medicinal chemistry.
ECO- Electronic Collections Online (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexing and abstracting of articles from over 5,000 journals published since 1995. Focused searching can be done by subject or publisher collection.
top of page
Theses & Dissertations
Find online doctoral dissertations and masters theses. Also see our guide to Finding Theses & Dissertations
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Hong Kong LIS Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC) is an online union collection of Hong Kong postgraduate students’ doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the online catalogs of seven university libraries in Hong Kong. Includes some online full text.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Also includes links to other useful ETD search tools.
top of page
All Online Physics Resources

