Music Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Dissertations
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Joe Clark
email: jclark@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Article Databases - Music
CAIRSS Music Index Coverage: current
Database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. 1,354 different journal titles; 18 of which are indexed cover to cover. Now with a Web interface.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Music & Performing Arts Online It brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. It covers areas such as music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts
Music Index (Ebsco) 
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Project Muse Coverage: varies
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1969 - present
Citations and abstracts on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
top of page
All Online Music Resources
