Subject Guides - Music
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Indexes & Abstracts
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
CAIRSS Music Index Database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine. 1,354 different journal titles; 18 of which are indexed cover to cover. Now with a Web interface.
JSTOR Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Music & Performing Arts Online It brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. It covers areas such as music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts
Project Muse Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco) 
Citations and abstracts on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale.
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell, eds. New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition, 2001.[REF ML100.N48 2001]
Friedrich Blume, ed. Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik, 1994.[REF ML100.M92 1994]
Bruno Nettl, Ruth M. Stone, James Porter and Timothy Rice, eds. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, 1998.[REF ML100.G16 1998]
Michael Kennedy, ed. The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 1994.[REF ML100.K35 1994]
Don Michael Randel, ed. The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 1999.[REF ML100.H36 1999]
Barry Kernfeld, ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed, 2002.[REF ML102.J3.N48 2002]
Stanley Sadie, ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, 1992.[REF ML102.O6.N5 1992]
H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie, eds. The New Grove Dictionary of American Music, 1986.[REF ML101.U6.N48 1986]
Stanley Sadie, ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 1984.[ML102.I5.N48 1984]
Nicolas Slonimsky, ed. Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, 2001.[ML105.B16 2001]
Dissertations
These resources will provide access to dissertations from 1861 to present,including those submitted at UMBC.
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
UMBC Dissertations & Theses Find Masters' degree theses and PhD dissertations submitted by UMBC doctoral candidates.
