Subject Guides - Model UN Research
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Country Information - Electronic Resources
Use these electronic resources to familiarize yourself with a country's economy, history, government, society, and more.
Background Notes Background Notes provide demographic, social, political and diplomatic information on countries of the world. They are updated/revised as they are received from regional bureaus and are added to the State Dept. Website. Includes links to regional sites.
Country Studies In-depth studies of countries' political, economic, social, cultural, and national security systems and institutions. Many photographs, maps, and charts. Formerly called Area Handbooks - US Army
World Factbook from the CIA Country profiles including history, land, people, climate, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and disputes.
Country Information - Print Resources
Use these print resources to familiarize yourself with a country's economy, history, government, society, and more.
United Nations. Demographic Yearbook / Annuaire Démographique, 1948 - current.[Reference HA17 .D45]
A comprehensive collection of international demographic statistics. Includes trends in population, natality, mortality, nuptiality and divorce.
Europa Publications Limited. Europa World Year Book, 1989 - current.[Reference JN1 .E85 (latest edition in Ready Reference)]
Provides an overview of a country's government, recent history, and economy as well as current statistical information.
United Nations. Statistical Yearbook / Annuaire Statistique, 1948 to current.[Reference HA12.5 .U63]
Includes individual country statistics on population and society, economic activity, and international economic relations.
Palgrave. The Statesman's Year Book, 1910-2001.[Reference JA51 .S7]
A historical an statistical annual of the states of the world. Covers politics, cultures, and economies.
Background Information on Issues - Electronic Resources
Use these electronic resources to search for current and past information on UN activities and international issues. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable full text newspapers including the New York Times, Times (London), and Le Monde.
LexisNexis Academic 
Search for news, legislation, business information. Features full text of many newspapers. Includes Federal & State case law, biography, country & state profiles, almanac, medical reference, quotations, polls & surveys, radio and TV transcripts.
Background Information on Issues - Print Resources
Use these print resources to research current and past information on UN activities and international issues.
United Nations. Yearbook of the United Nations, 1946 - current.[Reference JX1977.A37 Y4]
Provides detailed information and indexing for the entire UN organization, including selected full text resolutions and voting records.
Speeches at the United Nations
Search for full text speeches made in the General Assembly , the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council back to 1983, and the Trusteeship Council back to 1982.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET) Includes bibliographic records of documents and publications indexed by the UN Libraries, full text voting records of all resolutions which were adopted, and full text speeches made in the various bodies of the UN.
Policy Statements
Review policy statements from a country's political leadership.- Project Visa: Visa and Embassy Information for All Countries
Links to embassy pages of countries throughout the world. These pages contain policy information, press releases, and more.
United Nations Resolutions and Draft Resolutions
Study the texts of resolutions sponsored by a country.- Economic and Social Council Resolutions
View the full text of Economic and Social Council resolutions back to 1982.
- General Assembly Resolutions
View the full text of General Assembly resolutions back to the first session of the General Assembly (1946).
- Security Council Resolutions
View the full text of Security Council resolutions back to 1946.
United Nation Voting Records
Search UNBISNET for the voting records for all resolutions which were adopted by the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-). Links to the full text of resolutions are provided.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET) Includes bibliographic records of documents and publications indexed by the UN Libraries, full text voting records of all resolutions which were adopted, and full text speeches made in the various bodies of the UN.
International Affairs Databases
Search these subscription databases for references to books, journal articles, and other documents relevant to international affairs.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
LexisNexis Academic 
Search for news, legislation, business information. Features full text of many newspapers. Includes Federal & State case law, biography, country & state profiles, almanac, medical reference, quotations, polls & surveys, radio and TV transcripts.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
