Modern Language & Linguistics Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Gergana Kostova
email: g.kostova@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3592
Article Databases - Modern Language & Linguistics
These resources provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which are full-text
America: History & Life (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MLA International Bibliography offers detailed records of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's. The bibliography contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Coverage: Index Only
PAIS International indexes citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature and research reports back to 1972. PAIS Archive contains the records from PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin 1915-1976.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)
Coverage: 1992 - present
CWI provides full text access to global information on women. Includes journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
LLBA indexes and abstracts articles on the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also includes comprehensive coverage of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Coverage: 1991 - present
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings and journal articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Coverage: 1975-current
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of more than 4 million digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.
top of page
Article Databases - Census Material
These resources provide methods and access to census materials.
American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.
top of page
Article Databases - Government Documents, Legal Resources & Statistics
These resources provide access to federal and state government documents, legal resources, and statistical resources.
GPO Access Document Search
Coverage: current
Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.
GPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since July 1976. Many records include direct links to the full text of the publication.
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full text documents and statistical information in tabular formats. Sources include U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. (Formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
These resources provide access to articles in both scholarly and popular journals and magazines as well as sources available in the Library
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
LexisNexis Academic
Coverage: Full Text
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.
ArticleFirst (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
A multidisciplinary index of articles published 1990-, from the contents pages of over 16000 journals. Results show full citation and holding libraries (no abstracts).
BBC News - Country Profiles
The site provides information on the history, economy,and politics of countries and territories. Each profile includes an overview, map, facts, current leader, and information on the media. Links provide access to key stories and clips from the BBC archives. Good supplement to the CIA Fact Book, and State Department files.
British Library EthOS : Electronic theses online service
EThOS provides a single point of access to all theses produced by UK Higher Education. Note: First time users must register before ordering/downloading.
Australasian Digital Theses Program
Coverage: 2000-
The aim of the ADT program is to establish a distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities. The theses will be available worldwide via the web. The ideal behind the program is to provide access to, and promote Australian research to the international community.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Coverage: current
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
WorldCat (OCLC)
Coverage: Index Only
Worldcat holds the records of all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Search for specific titles or authors or do general searches by subject or keyword. Results display formats, holding institutions, and links to full text if available.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
All Online Modern Language & Linguistics Resources

