Mathematics & Statistics Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Shu Qian
email: qian@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-1783
Course Guides
Alert
Article Databases - Math & Statistics
MathSci Net
Coverage: Index Only
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
Coverage: 1975 - present
As a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, it indexes publications in statistics and related fields from 106 core journals, selected articles from about 1200 additional journals, and about 11,000 books in statistics.
Zentralblatt MATH
Coverage: 1868 - present
The world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics, containing more than 2.0 million entries drawn from more than 2300 serials and journals. Includes the Jahrbuch database (JFM). NOTE: UMBC only has access to the free version of Zentralblatt MATH which limits us to 3 results per search.
AMS Electronic Journals
Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
Article Databases - Pre-prints & Conference Papers
arXiv.org e-Print archive
Coverage: Full Text
Open access e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Conference Papers Index (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
top of page
Electronic Journal Collections
SIAM Journals Online
Coverage: varies
Browse or search the full-text of SIAM journals online.
AMS Electronic Journals
Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
Biblioteka Wirtualna Matematyki (Polish Virtual Mathematical Library)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Free archival access to select mathematics journals from Poland, some dating from the late 19th century. Many of the articles are available in English.
Numdam
Coverage: varies
Search and view digitized versions of older, French journals in mathematics.
top of page
All Online Mathematics and Statistics Resources

