Skip navigation

Literary Criticism & Author Biography Subject Guide

Contact YOUR Librarian:

Gergana Kostova
email: g.kostova@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3592

Search catalogusmai, the Library's Online Catalog



Examples:
  • Jane Austen biography (in keyword field)
    Retrieves biographies and autobiographies of the author

Biographical Reference Sources

Find citations and, often, the full-text of articles in literature.
  • Off-campus access restricted to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Biography and Genealogy Master Index

    Coverage: Full set
    Indexes current and retrospective reference works containing multiple biographies. 10 million+ entries.

  • Off-campus access restricted to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff Literature Resource Center

    Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.

  • Off-campus access restricted to UMBC Students, Faculty and Staff LION (Literature Online Complete)

    Coverage: varies
    Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.


  • reference book Dictionary of Literary Biography.
    Location: REF PS221.D5
    Provides extensive biographical information on writers worldwide. The last volume of the set provides a cumulative index to the whole set

Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Services & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Asian Studies

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

Education

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Gender & Women's Studies

Geography & Environmental Systems

Government Information Sources

H

History

I

Information Systems

Intercultural Communication

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Mechanical Engineering

Media & Communications Studies

Medicine & Health

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

Related Resources

Research Guides & Tutorials