Subject Guides - Literary Criticism & Author Biography
This guide lists selected sources for locating literary criticism and author biography. For further assistance, please consult with a reference librarian.Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Jessame Ferguson
(interim contact)
Literary Criticism
I. Search catalogusmai, the Library's Online CatalogUse the author's complete name, if known
examples:
- Jane Austen criticism (in keyword field)
Retrieves books of criticism on the author's works William Shakespeare Hamlet (in keyword field) This search will retrieve books of criticism on the particular work. Use this search when the author is particularly prolific.
Jane Austen bibliography (in keyword field)
Retrieves bibliographies containing references to author criticism
- Start your search for literature criticism here. LRC contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
A. Search the Gale Literary Index
- The master index to every literary series published by Gale. Allows you to search by author, title of work, author dates and nationality. Search results provide a list of the books within the Gale Series where the information may be found. See section B for call numbers.
B. Use the print literary series. The titles in the Gale Literary Series provide excerpts of criticism from magazines, scholarly journals and books. Use the last volume of any set for an author index to the entire series.
- Black Literature Criticism. REF PS153.N5B556
Criticism of works of Black authors writing from 1960 - present. - CLC (Contemporary Literary Criticism) REF PN94.C6
Criticism of works of authors writing from 1960 - present. - Critical Survey of Poetry. REF PR502.C85 1982
Provides a comprehensive overview of English language poets and their works. - NCLC (Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism) REF PN761.N5
Criticism on authors who lived from 1800 - 1900. - Poetry Criticism REF PN1010.P499
Criticism of the most significant and widely studied world poets.
- Short Story Criticism. REF PN3373.S386
Criticism on short stories from all times. - TCLC (Twentieth Century Literature Criticism) REF PN94.T93
Criticism on authors who lived from 1900 - 1960.
C. Citing Gale Literary Criticism Series
- MLA Stylesheet from Lee University
Article Indexes
Find citations and, often, the full-text of articles in literature.
LION (Literature Online Complete) Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.
Literature Resource Center Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) 
Indexes 4,000+ journals in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, rhetoric, dramatic arts, printing and publishing.
Author Biography
I. Search catalogusmai, the Library's Online CatalogExamples:
- Jane Austen biography (in keyword field)
Retrieves biographies and autobiographies of the author
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- Indexes thousands of collective biographies.
- Provides full-text biographical information.
- Provides extensive biographical information on writers worldwide. The last volume of the set provides a cumulative index to the whole set.
