Information Systems Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
- New: IEEE Citations,
- style manual
-author Toolbox
-Citation reference - New: ACM LaTex style guide
- New: Grad Students Help Page
Article Databases - Computing & IS Resources
Indexes with a focus primarily on computing and IS.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing and developments in business, the Internet, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered.
Computer Science Index (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. The collection covers more than 6,500 computer science periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.
Computer Source (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
top of page
Article Databases - Engineering & Mathematics
These databases, while not specifically covering IS/IT topics, index the engineering and mathematics literature, inclduing government programs.
INSPEC (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Inspec®,provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Inspec coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
arXiv.org e-Print archive
Coverage: Full Text
Open access e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
MathSci Net
Coverage: Index Only
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
Science.gov
Science.gov contains reliable government resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Developed by an interagency working group of 17 scientific and technical information organizations from 12 major science agencies.
Engineering Pathway
The Engineering Pathway is a portal to high-quality teaching and learning resources in engineering, applied science and math, computer science/information technology, and engineering technology and is designed for use by K-12 and university educators and students. Resources include support for ABET accreditation, research and scholarship, curricula development and extracurricular activities for students.
top of page
Article Databases - Business & Economics
Indexes to the business and economics literature, company information and market information.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.
EconLit (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Regional Business News (Ebsco)
Coverage: Full Text
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
top of page
Article Databases - Social & Psychological Aspects of Technology
Indexes for researching the social and psychological aspects of information technology.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
PsycINFO (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
PsycINFO abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with journal coverage starting in the 1800s includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CMMC offer indexing and abstracts for more 770 titles, including full text for over 480 journals dating as far back as 1915. CMMC also contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SocINDEX features sociology research with indexing for more than 2.1 million records. Full text is available for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Online access to dictionaries, handbooks, current newspapers, other reference resources.
LexisNexis Academic
Coverage: Full Text
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.
National Newspapers (Proquest)
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
All Online Information Systems Resources

