Medicine & Health Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Medical & Health Article Databases
Medline (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CINAHLŽ provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health dating back to 1981. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
BioMed Central
Coverage: Full Text
Search the journals of BioMed Central, an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Some features require free registration.
Health Source Plus (Ebsco nursing & consumer editions)
Coverage: Some Full Text
This is a combined database of consumer health information on a variety of topics and scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers generic drug patient education sheets.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.

