Skip navigation

History Subject Guide

Contact YOUR Librarian:

Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608


Course Guides

Alerts

Resources in Special Collections

The Special Collections Department has a variety of resources useful to historians, including major photography collections, regional archives and manuscript collections, as well as being the rare book and alternative press collections repository. Full details on holdings can be found on the Library website at Special Collections.
Collections of particular interest to historians include:

Images

Photography collections can be viewed in the department during business hours or by appointment. An Index to the collections is available, as is a partial database of individual images. Digitized images not listed below are linked through the database.

Digitized image collections online
The digitized collections include photographs of child labor, African-American history, American Civil War, others. Collection descriptions are available on the webpage.

Print & Negative Collections

Baltimore Sun Photos [prints and negatives only, no online]
Primarily local news photographs, some world coverage, bulk 1920s-1970s. Arranged by personal name and subject. Online index forthcoming.
Hughes Collection [glass plate negatives, some prints]
Local commercial photographers, primarily late 19th-early 20th century. Baltimore businesses, store windows, street scenes, buildings, with a separate collection of panoramic views. Partial finding aid available in the department. Scanning is permitted of negatives in suitable condition.
News American Collection [prints & negatives only, no online]
World news service photographs. Primarily early to mid-twentieth century. Arranged by subject, minimal captions, no finding aid.
Underwood & Underwood Collection [prints & negatives only, no online]
World news service photographs, with captions. Primarily early to mid-twentieth century. Arranged by subject, no finding aid.

Regional Archives, Manuscript Collections, Newspapers

Ernest Kempe Collection
Finding Aid to the collection of Ernest Kempe including newspaper clippings of articles, broadsides, postcards, negatives and photos dealing with Baltimore, Maryland, from 1865-1953. Clippings cover various streets, buildings and notable residents of Baltimore.
F.C. Latrobe Collection
Finding Aid to the collection of materials written by Ferdinand C. Latrobe and relating to Mr. Latrobe. Latrobe was Mayor of Baltimore for seven terms, spanning the last quarter of the nineteenth century.
Perry Hall Improvement Association
Finding Aid to the papers of the PHIA. Includes the documents on the founding and organization of the Association, projects undertaken, membership lists, newspaper clippings and zoning regulations from the period.
Philip M. Wagner Collection
Finding Aid to the documents relating to the life and work of Philip M. Wagner (1904-1996). The materials are organized into series which reflect the major areas of life & work: personal, Sun papers & Boordy [vineyards].

Newspapers Collection [hard copy]
An index to the newspaper holdings in Special Collections is available. The holdings represent UMBC's contribution to the preservation of original copies of American newspapers. Titles are primarily from the Northeastern and Central states. Dates of publication range from the early 19th century to mid-20th century.

The Department is also the depository for a complete run of the print holdings of the Baltimore Sun (1837-1968)and the Evening Sun (1910-1964) [no index].
top of page

All Online History Resources
Have Questions?
Ask a Librarian

Subject Guides

Subject Guides Home

A

Africana Studies

Aging Services & Gerontology

American Studies

Ancient Studies

Anthropology

Art/Visual Art

Asian Studies

Athletics

B

Biological Sciences

Business & Economics

C

Career Resources

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)

D

Dance

E

E-Reference

Education

English

F

Film Reviews

G

Gender & Women's Studies

Geography & Environmental Systems

Government Information Sources

H

History

I

Information Systems

Intercultural Communication

L

Literary Criticism & Author Biography

M

Mathematics & Statistics

Mechanical Engineering

Media & Communications Studies

Medicine & Health

Modern Language & Linguistics

Music

P

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Primary Sources

Psychology

Public Policy

R

Religious & Judaic Studies

S

Social Work

Sociology

T

Theatre

Related Resources

Research Guides & Tutorials