History Subject Guide
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
Full-Text Online Newspapers
LexisNexis Academic
Coverage: Full Text
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.
National Newspapers (Proquest)
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following:
Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present
Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present
New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present
Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present
Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
New York Times Historical (Proquest)
Coverage: Full Text
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1880-1922)
Coverage: 1880-1922
Chronicling America allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Newspapers and Microfilm Collections
- Archives of Maryland Vols. 1-72 [micro in REF]
- Baltimore Afro-American [various editions 1893-2002 microfilm in SERIALS]
- Baltimore City Directories: 1752,1799-1930 [Micro in REF]
- Baltimore Sun 1837- [print copy to 1960s in SPECIAL COLLECTIONS, micro in SERIALS]
- Challenger (Space Shuttle) data base [Micro in REF TL867.C45]
- CIA Research Papers (Africa) 1946-1976 [micro in REF]
- Early English Newspapers (17th & 18th century) [microfilm #476 in SERIALS]
- New York Times 1851- [micro in SERIALS]
- Times of London 1785- [micro in SERIALS]
- Passenger Lists of Vessels Arriving in Baltimore 1820-1891 [micro in REF]
- Schomberg Collection (African American History) [micro in SERIALS]
- Slavery Collection (primary source documents) [micro in REF]
- Southern Historical Papers [CD-ROM E483.7.S76 1997 at REFERENCE DESK]
- Washington Post 1961- [micro in SERIALS]

