History Subject Guide
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
Regional History Online Resources
Archives of Maryland Online
Coverage: Full Text
Archives of Maryland Online currently provides access to over 471,000 historical documents that form the constitutional, legal, legislative, judicial, and administrative basis of Maryland's government.
Maryland State Archives
The Maryland State Archives is the historical agency for Maryland and serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Records date from the founding of the colony in 1634 to the 1990s. Open to the public. Located in Annapolis.
Maryland History and Culture Bibliography
The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, subject indexes to monographs and journals, publishers' catalogs, and electronic databases, among other sources.
Local History Resource Wiki
A collection of links relating to regional Maryland history with an emphasis on Baltimore. Includes contact and collection information for libraries, museums, historical societies as well as locations of historical newspapers, oral histories, digital images and illustrations, and online documentary projects.
Baltimore City Directories Online
Coverage: Full Text
Full text of Baltimore City directories (various publishers) 1810 through the 1920s
Baltimore Neighborhoods Research Guide
Coverage: Full Text
From the Enoch Pratt Free Library. This guide will point you to resources you can use to become better acquainted with neighborhoods in Baltimore City.
The Afro Newspaper Morgue Collections
Coverage: Index Only
The Afro Newspaper Morgue Collections include newspapers stories, materials related to the story,including photographs, related article clippings and ephemera arranged by subject matter.
Baltimore City Archives [A Guide to Research and Writing about the History of Baltimore City]
Coverage: Index Only
Website and users' guide to using the Baltimore city archives for research.
Ferdinand C. Latrobe Papers [digital collection]
This selection from the Ferdinand C. Latrobe papers includes his hand- written speeches, with some composed during his terms as the Mayor of Baltimore City. The speeches discuss a wide-range of topics, pertinent to both local and national politics and events. Speeches discussing Latrobe’s position on slavery, the Emancipation Proclamation, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Jackson, and the Pure Foods Movement have a national scope; his speeches regarding the Maryland Board of State Aid and Charities, the Baltimore “Illumination” festival, Maryland history, and various aspects of Baltimore City civic and municipal improvements showcase Latrobe’s participation and interest in many aspects of Baltimore politics and city life. Although some are incomplete or drafts, all of the speeches are written in Latrobe’s hand; additional printed speeches are available in the Ferdinand C. Latrobe papers. This selection is drawn from Series I.9, Speeches; a full finding aid for the collection is available on UMBC’s Special Collections website.
Comprehensive Guide to the Manuscript Collections at the Maryland Historical Society
Coverage: Index Only
This guide represents a combination of two previously published works: Avril J. M. Pedley, comp., The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1968) and Richard J. Cox and Larry E. Sullivan, eds., Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society (Baltimore, 1981).
Probing the Past: Virginia and Maryland Probate Inventories, 1740-1810
Coverage: Full Text
Probate records provide valuable information about the lifestyles of people during the colonial and early national periods.Included in the database are 325 inventories of the household items that provide insight into furnishings, dining habits & behavior
top of page
All Online History Resources


