History Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Article Databases - American & World History
America: History & Life 
Coverage: prehistory - present
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America and Canda.
Early English Book Online (EEBO) Coverage: ca. 1475 to 1700 (historical)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a searchable full text database of over 95,000 titles published between 1475 and 1700. Over 125,000 titles anticipated (new titles are added each year). Searchable by author, title, subject & imprint information. Documents can be viewed online and or downloaded in PDF format (Adobe)
Early Modern Women Database Coverage: 1500 to ca. 1800
Provides links to resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. Coverage 1500 to 1800. Includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century. Resources have been selected by librarians of the University of Maryland Libraries. The database includes bibliographic databases to full-text resources, images, and sound recordings. Most of the resources are free.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Coverage: 1996-
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. [Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae]. Bibliographic records only.
Historical Abstracts 
Coverage: 1954 - present
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
History Cooperative A joint venture of the American Historical Assn., Org. of American Historians, U. of Illinois Press and Nat'l Academy Press. Includes full-text journals & information on member organizations. No login needed, use Search or go to journals
ITER Database & Journals Coverage: current
A searchable bibliography of 225,000 plus records from the complete runs of more than 300 scholarly journals, monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes access to ITER journals.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Maryland History and Culture Bibliography The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography consists of citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, subject indexes to monographs and journals, publishers' catalogs, and electronic databases, among other sources.
Monastic Matrix: a scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400-1600 CE the Matrix includes information on the location and establishment of women's religious communities, primary and secondary sources on communities, biographical information on founders/membes, a glossary, bibliography, and an image file of related art.
ORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. ORB provides access to full length textbooks, encyclopedia articles, bibliographies and primary source materials.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies Database of primarily web-based resources for medieval topics, arranged by category and type of material. Sponsored by Georgetown University.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Coverage: 1600-2000
Database of books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies of all aspects of American Women's public lives and political activities.
Women Writers Online Coverage: 1400 to 1850
Searchable, full-text digital archive of texts by pre-Victorian women writers (includes Renaissance Women Online).
top of page
Article Databases - Biography
African American Biographical Database (AABD) Coverage: 1790-1950
Biographical information on thousands of African Americans, assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. Initial content was drawn from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Provided by the Bell endowment.
American National Biography Online Coverage: c.975-
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Coverage: Full set
Indexes current and retrospective reference works containing multiple biographies. 10 million+ entries.
Biography Index Coverage: 1946 - present
Coverage includes English-language periodicals and more than 1,800 books added each year.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [DNB] Coverage: earliest - 2002
The Oxford DNB includeds the complete text of 55,000 biogrphies with 10,000 portrait illustrations of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002
top of page
Article Databases - Diplomatic & Military History
Foreign Relations of the United States The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Published by the Department of State. Select volumes.
Foreign Relations of the United States (Archive) Coverage: 1861-1899; 1900-1918
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Produced by the U of Wisc and the U of Ilinois at Chicago
Military & Government Collection (Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1990 - present
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
National Security Archive at George Washington University Coverage: current
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library that collects and publishes declassified documents, providing access to critical declassified records on national security, military history, foreign policy
NSA Historical Publications Coverage: 18th-current
Full-text pamphlets and monographs published by the National Security Agency. Topics range from slavery through Prohibition, World War II, Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, cryptology, misc.
The Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University [Virtual Vietnam Archive] Coverage: 1960-
The mission of the Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University is to support research & education regarding all aspects of the history of the American Vietnam experience. Materials include full text documents, maps, oral histories, diaries, videos, other.
top of page
Article Databases - Science & Technology History
Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs are brief biographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members, written by those who knew them or their work. These biographies provide a personal and scholarly view of the lives and work of America's most distinguished scientists and a biographical history of science in the United States.
Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online Coverage: 1840-
This website provides Darwin's complete publications, many handwritten manuscripts and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published. There are also over 170 ancillary textsfrom reference works, reviews, obituaries and more.
Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology Coverage: current
Access point to the Dibner Library's online editions and databases. Includes links to pdf versions of selected Dibner Library Lectures, the scientists' biographies database, and links to other collections in the Smithsonian.
ECHO: Exploring & collecting history online Coverage: earliest-current
Since 2001 the Echo project has used the Internet to collect and present the recent history of science, technology, and industry. Echo provides a centralized guide and portal for those seeking websites on the history of science and technology.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook [from Fordham University] The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. The History of Science Sourcebook is a subset of the major sourcebooks.
Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology Coverage: 2001-
Intute is a free service that offers access to high quality Web resources in the physical sciences; there are currently over 33,300 resources in astronomy, chemistry, earth sciences, materials sciences, physics, and science history and policy
NASA History Division NASA History Division serves two key functions: to disseminate aerospace information as widely as possible and help NASA managers benefit from the study of past accomplishment and difficulties. Pages include both documents, photographs and links.
Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical [index] Coverage: 1800-1900
The Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical (SciPer) index provides an scholarly synopsis of the material relating to science, technology, and medicine appearing in sixteen non-scientific periodicals published in Britain between 1800 and 1900.
The swords of Armageddon: U.S. nuclear weapons development since 1945 Coverage: 1945-
Includes a complete technical glossary;a history of American thermonuclear weaponry; weapons physics; technological innovations in weapons design; individual war-head histories. Full text files on REF workstation, CD available in stacks at U264.S96 1995
top of page
Article Databases - General Reference & Interdisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Coverage: 1861 - present
Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL] Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
WorldCat Coverage: current
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 
Coverage: 1975-current
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations and public administration / policy.
top of page
All Online History Resources
