History Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Print Indexes
- Primary
Sources - Newspapers & Microfilm
- Census Data
- Special Collections
- Baltimore & MD Resources
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
Online Dictionary and Encyclopedias
These are cross-searchable online dictionaries and encyclopedias. Use the Oxford Reference box to the right for quick searches in the historical sources only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [GVRL]
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.
Oxford Reference Online
It brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and business and professional sources.
Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has an historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.
Encyclopaedia Iranica
Coverage: ancient-
The Encyclopędia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
Encyclopedia of the Cold War [ABC-Clio].
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
available through Gale Virtual Reference Library under the Science tab
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The Reference Collection holds a variety of dictionaries and encyclopedias on historical topics. Call numbers for History are primarily in the Ds, Es, and Fs. Browse the shelves or use the library catalog to find specific titles.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages.
1982.
Location: REF D114.D5
Facts on File Yearbooks.
1941 - present.
Location: REF D410.F3
English Historical Documents.
(c. 500 - 1914).
Location: REF DA26.E55
Sources in British Political History.
1975.
Location: DA566.7.C66
Modern Japan: an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalism.
1998.
Location: REF DS805.M63
Encyclopedia of American History.
2003.
Location: REF E174.E53
Historical statistics of the United States: earliest times to the present.
2006, v.1-5.
Location: REF HA202.H57
Historical Documents (U.S).
1972 - present.
Location: REF E839.5.H57
Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Location: REF Q141.D5
top of page
All Online History Resources

