History Subject Guide
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
A useful collection of examples of primary source material available for different historical periods and regions. Additional collections can be found on the Baltimore & Maryland page.
British Isles
4th-19th centuries
Old English Corpus
The Corpus comprises over 3000 different texts (all surviving OE material, excluding some variant texts).
British History Online
Coverage: Some Full Text
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. UMBC access is available only for the free content.
Old Bailey Online: The Proceedings of the Old Bailey 1674-1913
Coverage: Full Text
A fully searchable edition of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. The project is a collaboration between the Open University, and the Universities of Hertfordshire and Sheffield.
London Lives 1690-1840: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis [archive]
Coverage: Full Text
Provides a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners including parish archives and criminal, coroner, guild and hospital records.
British Parliamentary Papers: Enhanced Parliamentary Papers on Ireland 1801 - 1922
Coverage: Some Full Text
The bibliographic records and searchable PDFs of the EPPI are now available for most of the collection through the University of Southampton Library WebCat. No login is required. Scroll to the list of work examples and follow the link to the catalog.
top of page
World
Medieval-Modern
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, &
Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Coverage includes documents from ancient history to the present.
Online Froissart: A digital edition of the Chronicles of Jean Froissart
Coverage: Full Text
The Online Froissart includes more than 100 transcriptions covering Books I, II and III of the Chronicles, a powerful collation tool and a search engine. With essays and notes on the history, politics and personalities of the period, the resource also includes a new translation into modern English of selected chapters from the first three Books of the Chronicles.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
Coverage: Full Text
The Catalogue offers access to medieval manuscripts available on the web. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database.
First World War Poetry Digital Archive / Great War Archive
Coverage: Full Text
The Archive is a combination of collections of primary source material from major poets of the period plus over 6,500 items contributed by the general public relating to the First World War, either abroad or at home.
Yale Slavery and Abolition Portal
Coverage: Full Text
Provides access to primary sources related to slavery, abolition, and resistance in relevant collections in each Yale institution.
top of page
United States
Colonial to 19th c.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates
Coverage: Full Text
A Century of Lawmaking brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. Included are the Journals of Congress, statutes and and documents, debates of Congress, more.
National Archives Records [on Footnote]
Coverage: Full Text
Digitized collections from the National Archives. Collections are varied: Continental Congress, Civil War pensions, FBI documents, Southern Claims Commission, Brady photographs, others. see also http://www.nara.gov/
American Memory Collection [Library of Congress]
Selected digitized full text and image files from the Library of Congress collections. Includes selections from Presidential papers, Congressional documents, maps, pamphlets music and photographs from significant social, cultural and political movements.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War [University of Virginia]
Coverage: Full Text
The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War.
Unknown No Longer: A Database of Virginia Slave Names
Coverage: Full Text
Using unpublished historical manuscripts the database provides access to biographical details of enslaved Virginians. In some cases there may only be a name on a list; in others more details survive, including family relationships, occupations, and life dates.
top of page
United States
20th century-
Historic Government Publications from World War II: a digital library
Coverage: 1939-1946
SMU Central University Libraries, part of GPO's Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), have digitized hundreds of historical World War II publications and photographs and made them available to the public.
Nuremberg Trials Project: A digitial document collection
Coverage: Full Text
Offers access to approx. one million pages of documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT).
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive
Coverage: Full Text
The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive is a fully searchable database of digitized versions of rare and unique library and archival resources on race relations in Mississippi from a variety of collections.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Coverage: Full Text
Provides access to digitized copies of United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Library's collection and available on the USCCR Web site.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive focuses on preservation and providing access to digital cultural artifacts. Collections include text, visual, and audio files in a variety of formats, including archived web pages and sites.
top of page
All Online History Resources

