Subject Guides - Government Resources
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Government Documents in the News
- Documents in the News and Government Resources on the Web
Reference - Indexes. Multidisciplinary index of the world's leading science and technical journals. Published bi-monthly since 1961, SCI indexes over 3700 journals in more than 100 disciplines.
Census: United States
2000 Census Gateway Search the 2000 United States Census and more.
American Factfinder Access data from the 1990 Decennial Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the American Community Survey, and Census 2000 data as they become available. American FactFinder is a service of the U.S. Census Bureau.
City Population Population statistics and maps for all areas of the world. Population of countries, cities, and principal agglomerations.
County and City Databook From the US Census Bureau. Summary demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. See also C3.134/2. Most current ed. On RDYREF.
Historical US Census Data Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version) Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents.
USA Counties 1998 Data on population, crime, economics, health, government, and more, covering all states and counties. Includes comparison reports with output sorted by rank or plotted on a map. 1992 and 1994 publications are on CD-ROM at C 3.134/6: (year).
top of page
Statistics: Multifacted
LexisNexis Statistical 
Includes these major statistical publications: ASI, SRI and IIS; Abstracts and indexes federal, international, state and privately published statistics; some hypertext links to agency Websites with full-text of the publication.
top of page
Business/Economics
StatUSA Economic, business, and international trade information produced by the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce. Includes National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) and State of the Nation. Please see a Reference Librarian for access.
top of page
Trade
StatUSA Economic, business, and international trade information produced by the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce. Includes National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) and State of the Nation. Please see a Reference Librarian for access.
top of page
Education
Department of Education Annual Publications Online versions of the Digest of Education Statistics and the Condition of Education from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). Print versions in 1st floor GovDocs stacks.
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) "The Nation's Report Card." Trends in achievement for all major subjects, grades K-12, by state. From National Center for Education Statistics.
School District Demographics Social, financial, and administrative data for each of the 15,274 school districts in the US for 2000. From the National Center for Education Statistics.
top of page
Crime
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online version of Bureau of Justice Statistics annual publication. Includes data on crime, criminals, victimization, courts, corrections, law enforcement, and more. Print version in 1st floor GovDocs, call# J29.9/6:
Uniform Crime Report Online version of annual publication. Also known as Crime in the United States. Special sections on hate crime and terrorism in the US. Print version in 1st floor GovDocs, call# J1.14/7:
top of page
Branches of Government: Legislative
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress Biographical information for members of the United States Congress.
Congress.org Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.
LexisNexis Congressional 
Find congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and track bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, full-text of congressional documents and the Congressional Record, plus the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR.
Thomas Legislative Database from Library of Congress Congressional news; bill summary, status and full-text; Congressional Record 1994 - pres.; committee information; historical documents and debates; essays on the legislative process; and more.
top of page
Branches of Government: Judicial
Findlaw Constitutional Law Center Findlaw Constitutional Law Center is an educational resource site dedicated to the U.S. Constitution and Supreme Court. It includes historical documents, biographies of Supreme Court Justices and Supreme Court decisions, and current and upcoming cases.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media On this day in history cases; featured trials Search cases by subject. Includes brief biographies and portraits of all justices on the Supreme Court. Virtual tour of the Supreme Court.
Web guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research This web guide provides a selection of annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research.
top of page
Branches of Government: Executive
Presidential Papers Infobase Includes Messages and papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft, and the Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Hoover through Bush; Clinton+ available online.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States President Clinton's 1996 and 1997 Public Papers. Subsequent Presidential papers, as well as volumes covering previous administrations, will be added on an incremental basis.
top of page
Databases
Government Document Search Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.
GPO Monthly Catalog (MOCAT) Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since July 1976.
top of page
United Nations
Human Rights - Country Reports from US Dept. of State Submitted annually to the US Congress; covers internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the [United Nations'] Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System (UNBISNET) Includes bibliographic records of documents and publications indexed by the UN Libraries, full text voting records of all resolutions which were adopted, and full text speeches made in the various bodies of the UN.
United Nations InfoNation Comparative economic, demographic, geographic, and social data for every country in the world. Includes source citations.
top of page
Map Search
MapSearch Search for maps in the Albin O. Kuhn Library. Map cabinets are located in the back of the Reference Room and in Special Collections.
top of page
Maryland Resources
COMAR (Code of Maryland Regulations) The official compilation of Maryland State Agency regulations (administrative law). Print version available at REF KFM 1235.1977.A22 Regulations proposed but not yet adopted are published in the bi-weekly Maryland Register.
Maryland Appellate Court Opinions Opinions of the Maryland Court of Appeals and the Maryland Court of Special Appeals.
Maryland Court Rules This site provides free access to the Maryland state court rules as published in West's Maryland Rules of Court pamphlet. The site is free, but you must register.
Maryland Manual On-Line Presents an overview of the organizational structure and staffing of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of Maryland government, including budgets, organizational charts, historical evolution of agencies, and their origin and functions.
Maryland State Data Center The SDC monitors development trends, analyzes social, economic data and prepares population, housing, employment, labor force, and income projections. Includes current & historical census data, statistical abstracts, tract maps, zip code maps, more
Maryland State Documents at UMBC Search for Maryland State documents held at UMBC. Maryland Documents are located on the first floor to the right of the Reference desk. For assistance call 410-455-2346 or visit the Reference desk.
Maryland.gov The Maryland Portal is a gateway to aid users in accessing State, Local and Federal government goods and services.
