Federal and State Government Information Sources
Legislative Branch: Sources and Analysis Tools (online)
The Legislative Branch includes the Senate, the House of Representatives and the Agencies that support Congress. These resources include both the main government pages and resources for tracking and analyzing the work of Congress
Primary Congressional Resources
The primary sites for information on the members and activity of Congress.
United States Senate
Coverage: Full Text
Primary website of the Senate, including current senators, voting satistics, nominations, sessions of Congress, FAQs, more.
United States House of Representatives
Primary webpage of the House of Representatives, including current office holders, legislation, voting histories, directories, educational resources, legislative archive
Federal Goverment: Legislative Branch
Coverage: current
The Legislative Branch includes the Senate and the House of Representatives, supported by 12 agencies. Information on current House and Senate members, current legislation and voting are available here along with supplementary training material.
top of page
Analysis Tools
Bill tracking, analysis, news, publications, links to the CFR and Federal Register.
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
House and Senate Roll Call Votes
Coverage: 1989-current
House and Senate bills with roll call votes. Includes links to summaries, full-text and related bills. 101st Congress to current session
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly
Coverage: 1983-current
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.
Thomas Legislative Database from Library of Congress
Coverage: varies
Congressional news; bill summary, status and full-text; Congressional Record 1994 - pres.; committee information; historical documents and debates; essays on the legislative process; and more.
top of page
Directories and Communication Tools
Biographical & contact information, committee assignments, comment and feedback links
Legistalker: online activity of members of Congress
very day, Congress relies more and more on the Internet to communicate with the world. Legistalker makes it easy for you to stay on top of what your elected officials say and how they vote. The ever-growing database is updated every 20 seconds, and relies on data from Twitter, YouTube, Capitol Words, literally hundreds of different news sources, and others.
Congress.org
Coverage: varies
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.
Legislative Source Book
Coverage: current
Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C., this source includes links to Internet and Online Sources of Legislative and Regulatory Information, links to House and Senate documents and hearings, and legislative telephone numbers.
top of page
All Government Information Sources


