Federal and State Government Information Sources
Executive Branch Sources (Online)
Primary Executive Branch resources
These are the Department, Agency and White House resources most often used to being research.
Federal Government: Executive Branch
Coverage: current
The Executive Branch includes 15 Departments (Agriculture - Veterans Affairs) and dozens of Independent Agencies, Government Corporations, Boards, Commissions and Committees. Current Information on each of these individual units and their functions can be found here.
top of page
The Presidency
These resources offer access to papers, speeches, and related documents of the Presidents. The print volumes of the 'Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States' are located in teh Government Documents collection at GS4.113- [Hoover through George W. Bush]
American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project archives contain 87,393 documents related to the study of the Presidency. It has both current information and a document archive of primary sources including the papers of the presidents, State of the Union addresses, election statistics, speeches, more.
The White House
Current issues forum, blog and information on all aspects of the incumbent president are included. Photos, documents, briefing digests, links to other government offices.
Presidential Papers Infobase
Includes Messages and papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft, and the Public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Hoover through George H.W. Bush; George H.W. Bush to present available online.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Coverage: 1991 - present
President Clinton's 1996 and 1997 Public Papers. Subsequent Presidential papers, as well as volumes covering previous administrations, will be added on an incremental basis.
top of page
State Department: 'Foreign Relation of the United States'
These sites provide online access to various years of the 'Foreign Relations of the United States. Note: The full set of published volumes to date is available in print in the Goverenment Documents collection at S1.1
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Published by the Department of State. Select volumes.
Foreign Relations of the United States (Archive)
Coverage: 1861-1899; 1900-1918
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Produced by the U of Wisc and the U of Ilinois at Chicago
top of page
Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The Code of Federal Regulations [CFR] is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Theses resources give access to the Federal Register and the CFR. Lexis Nexis Academic gives access to both through the new US Legal tab. The current volunmes of the CFR in print are available in the Goverenment Documents collection at AE2.106
CFR (Code of Federal Regulations)
Coverage: current
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Federal Register
Coverage: 1994-
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
e-CFR [Electronic Code of Federal Regulations]
Coverage: current
he Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
top of page
All Government Information Sources

