Federal and State Government Information Sources
Census and Statistical Sources (online)
The primary page of the United States Census Bureau lists all of the available data tools available from the govenment. Individual databases used frequently are:
Cenus Bureau Data Tools
These resources provide access to census statistics.
American FactFinder
American FactFinder is the Census Bureau’s online tool for accessing a wide variety of population, economic, geographic, and housing information about the United States.
Fedstats
Coverage: current
Search for online statistical publications from more than 100 agencies in the US Federal Government.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version)
Coverage: 1881-present
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under "Earlier Editions."
top of page
Historical census data
These resources, both from government and private sources provide access to historical statistics. Also see Print Resources for additional material
Historical US Census Data
Coverage: 1790 - 1970
Population, demographics, and economic data for all states and counties, from the United States decennial census, 1790 - 1970.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (US Census version)
Coverage: 1881-present
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under "Earlier Editions."
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Ed. Online
Coverage: 1770-
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition (a single one-time purchase!) will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
top of page
Health and Education statisitcs
These resources, both from government and private sources, provide access to a variety of health and education statistics, both current and historical
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Coverage: Full Text
Annual report presenting a statistical overview of the well-being of America's children. Content includes key indicators in seven domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
Kaiser State Health Facts
Coverage: current
Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 500 health topics: the data are based on an analysis of the Census Bureau’s March 2007 and 2008 Current Population Surveys (CPS; Annual Social and Economic Supplements) and are restricted to the civilian (not active duty military) population. The state data represent 2-year averages.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Coverage: current
Select FASTATS, Data Warehouse, or Frequently Asked Questions for quick access to the most-requested data. Source citations are included.
top of page
Business, Market, Regional Statistics
These resources are useful for regional and national statistics in a variety of categories
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full text documents and statistical information in tabular formats. Sources include U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. (Formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
County and City Databook: 2007
Coverage: Full Text
demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. Older editions in print.
Uniform Crime Reports
Online version of annual publication. Also known as Crime in the United States. Special sections on hate crime and terrorism in the US. include statistics on arrests for various criminal offenses at the national, regional and state level. Statistics for years before 1995 are available through the ICPSR Archive. Print version in Lower Level GovDocs, call# J1.14/7:
top of page
Understanding Statistics
These resources are useful for understanding how statistics are used and misused
STATS at George Mason University
Coverage: 1994-
STATS monitors the media to expose the abuse of science and statistics before people are misled and public policy is distorted. Present focus is on the following policy areas: education, children, drug use, public health, polls & surveys, gender, crime.
How to do Basic Statistical Research
Coverage: current
Answers to frequently-asked questions on statistical research from Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe.
top of page
All Government Information Sources

