Federal and State Government Information Sources
Government Information Sources at UMBC
The Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery has been a member of the Federal Library Depository Program since 1972, currently receiving approximately 14% of availble documents. The University of Maryland, College Park is our regional library and is a 100% recipient.
Documents published by the Government Printing Office (GPO) are not copyrighted and are indexed and available in a variety of online and print sources and many recent documents are available full-text online. Documents received in hardcopy or microform are in the Government Documents Collection located on the first floor of the Library, the ranges closest to the windows.
The primary online source for current government information is USA.gov
Searches done here return material from all branches of the Federal Government and state govenment websites.The University System of Maryland libraries include Federal documents in the catalog.
Use the USMAI catalog to locate or download Federal documents. Full-text online documents have the PURL link directly in the record. Print documents will be indexed by the SuDoc classification system, holdings information will identify the campus where these documents are available.Federal document Indexes & Archives
These resources provide access to Federal documents and citations.
Government Documents A-to-Z Digitization Project [University of North Texas]
Coverage: Full Text
The A-to-Z Project offers access to digitized pre-1960 government documents. The project is being done alphabetically, starting with the call number A, which includes agricultural documents. By popular demand, the A-to-Z Collection also contains vintage War Department field manuals and technical manuals.
FDsys: GPO's Federal Digital System
(FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. Collections currently available on FDsys are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-),Congressional Bills (103rd Cong-) Congressional Documents (104th Cong-),Congressional Hearings (105th Cong-), Congressional Record (1994-), Congressional Reports (104th Cong-), Federal Register (1994-), Public and Private Laws (104th Cong-)
GPO Access Document Search
Coverage: current
Search the US Budget, Congressional documents, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Federal Register, GAO documents, Public Laws, United States Code, and others. GPO Access.
GPO Monthly Catalog (OCLC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since July 1976. Many records include direct links to the full text of the publication.
GPO Monthly Catalog (MOCAT) - Free version
Coverage: 1976 - present
Indexes government publications issued by the Government Printing Office since January 1976.
Note: Different print editions of the Monthly Catalog of Government Documents are available in the Abstracts & Indexes section of the Reference Collection, listed under "M".
Additional Resources
These major portals provide access to tax, medical, and historical information from all areas of the Federal Government
National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine provides access to resources for the public and health professionals. Different databases provide access to current health news, medical literature and encyclopedias, health statistics, current trials and more. The NLM Gateway can be used to search up to 20 of the databases concurrently.
Internal Revenue Service [Tax forms and information]
Coverage: current
This is the homepage of the IRS. Download tax forms, brochures, and get information on all aspects of tax law.
Library of Congress
Coverage: current
The Library of Congress provides access to a variety of different collections and digital archives.
top of page
All Government Information Sources

