Geography & Environmental Systems Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Maps & Atlases
- Government Resources
- Professional Organizations
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Geography)
The following are a few of the Geography resources available in the Reference Collection. Please feel free to browse the Reference shelves in the G - GN section for other, valuable resources.
A Dictionary of Geography.
Oxford Reference Online.
A Modern Dictionary of Geography.
Small, R. J. (Ronald John). 1995.
Location: REF G63.S53 1995
Detailed definitions and explanations of over 2,000 terms used by modern geographers
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
2001.
Location: REF G63.W67 2001
A practical guide to the geographic, historical, political, social & economic status of all nations, their international relationships, and the United Nations system
Multilingual Dictionary of Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry .
Rabchevsky, George A.. 1984.
Location: REF G70.4.M84 1984
English definitions of over 1,700 terms commonly used in remote sensing and photogrammetry. Includes translations of terms in six languages
International GIS dictionary.
McDonnell, Rachael. 1995.
Location: REF G70.212.M33 1995
Definitions of terms as they are commonly used in GIS
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World .
Cohen, Saul Bernard. 1998.
Location: REF G103.5.C645 1998
Encyclopedia of geographic places and features. Entries include political divisions (states, provinces, capitals), the physical world (oceans, mountains, volcanoes), and special places (military bases, dams, national parks)
The Dictionary of Physical Geography.
Thomas, David S. G. . 2000.
Location: REF GB10.D53 2000
Definitions of terms and explanations of key ideas, concepts, and issues in physical geography
The Dictionary of Human Geography.
Johnston, R. J. (Ronald John) . 2000.
Location: REF GF4.D52 2000
Definitions of terms and explanations of key ideas, concepts, and issues in human geography
Encyclopedia of World Cultures .
Levinson, David. 1995.
Location: REF GN307.E53 1995
Nine volume set describing cultures, both past and present, of every region of the world
top of page
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Ecology & Environmental Sciences)
These are a few of the Ecology and Environmental Sciences reasources available in the Reference Collection. Please browse the Reference shelves in the GE and QH540 sections for other, valuable resources.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation.
Oxford Reference Online.
Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society.
Goudie, Andrew S. 2002.
Location: REF GE149.E47
Contains over 300 original, signed articles by scholars along with 1,500 illustrations that concentrate on both natural and man-made changes to the world's environment
Environmental Ethics.
Palmer, Clare. 1997.
Location: REF GE42.P35
Examines 20 environmental issues and presents biographical sketches of key individuals involved w/ those issues
Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia.
Paehlke, Robert. 1995.
Location: REFGE10.C68
Over 500 multidisciplinary, signed articles encompassing global issues such as conservation efforts, studies of species, treaties, energy-use projects, biographies of individuals, governmental organizations, and environmental organizations
Dictionary of Ecology and Environment, 4th ed.
Collin, P. H. 2001.
Location: REF GE10.D52
Comprehensive dictionary of ecological and environmental terms
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society.
Robbins, Paul. 2007.
Location: REF HM856.E53
Contains more than 1,200 entries on socio-environmental issues, written by experts from diverse fields.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management.
Calow, Peter. 1998.
Location: REF GE300.E53
A reference to the core definitions and issues associated with the multiplying subdisciplines of pure and applied ecology. Mixes dictionary-like short entries presenting details of specialized aspects, with encyclopedia-like long-essays that provide general overviews of broad subjects
A dictionary of ecology.
Allaby, Michael. 1998.
Location: REF QH540.4.C66 1998
Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution .
Eldredge, Niles. 2002.
Location: REF QH541.15.B56L54 2002
top of page
Online Reference Tools
Chemical Scorecard Coverage: current
Search for manufacturing facilities, pollutants and polluters by zip code, regulatory controls, and health effects for hazardous materials in the US. Data from Toxic Release Inventory (TRI).
GIS Dictionary Coverage: current
Searchable glossary of about 1000 terms related to Geographic Information Systems.
Global Gazetteer Coverage: current
This is a directory of 2880532 of the world's cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to a map for each town. Provides data on latitude, longitude, altitude above sea-level, and weather.
MapSearch Coverage: current
Search for maps in the Albin O. Kuhn Library. Map cabinets are located in the back of the Reference Room and in Special Collections.
National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Coverage: current
The NBII links diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and other contributors in government agencies, academic institutions, non-government organizations, and private industry.
Science.gov Science.gov contains reliable government resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Developed by an interagency working group of 17 scientific and technical information organizations from 12 major science agencies.
top of page
All Online Geography & Environmental Systems Resources
