Geography & Environmental Systems Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack (interim contact)
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Article Databases - Geography & Environmental Systems
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management 
Coverage: 1967 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
GreenFILE 
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Coverage: 1972 - present
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1895-
This sociology and social sciences index features more than 1,300,000 records including full text for 242 "core" journals dating back to 1895, 72 "priority" journals, 547 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers.
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
Article Databases - General & Multidisciplinary
Use these to find popular and scholarly articles, conference papers, and dissertations on your topic.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Coverage: 1990 - present
Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Conference Papers Index 
Coverage: 1982 - present
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Coverage: 1861 - present
Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
top of page
E-Journals
These collections of journals are full-text. See Also: E-Journals in Social Sciences
Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Coverage: 1995 - present
Over 100 searchable, full-text journals in many different fields.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Project Muse Coverage: varies
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
top of page
All Online Geography & Environmental Systems Resources
