Film Reviews Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Identifying Production Dates
- Bibliographies
- Full Text
Reviews
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Eric Jeitner
email: ejeitner@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Article Databases
The following sources provide access to reviews in journals, magazines and newspapers
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Art Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
Alternative Press Index [API]
Coverage: Some Full Text
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
Paper index available from 1971-1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.
Project Muse
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Access Free Sample Books on Project MUSE Beta Site
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
Alternative Press Index.
1969 - present.
Location: REF INDEX
Indexes alternative, radical, and independent periodicals. Access is by the term film reviews
Film Literature Index.
1973 - present.
Location: REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. Access is by name of the film
Humanities Index.
1974 - 1999.
Location: REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 400 publications that make up the core literature in the field of humanities, including film. Access is under motion picture reviews - single works
International Index to Film Periodicals.
1972 - present.
Location: REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 85 periodicals from around the world. Access is by name of the film
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
1900 - present.
Location: REF INDEX
The Times. (London).
1906 - present.
Location: REF INDEX
From 1906 to 1962, access is under the term cinematograph. From 1963, access is under the term films. For reviews from 1990 to the present, use Lexis Nexis Academic listed above in the Full Text Reviews section
top of page

