Subject Guides - Film Reviews
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Identifying Production Dates
To locate the production date of a film, use the following sources. If the film is not located, please consult with a reference librarian.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. REF PN1997.8.I58
Motion Picture Guide. REF PN1993.M4334
Bibliographies
Film Review Index. REF INDEX This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882-1985.
Salem, James. A Guide to Critical Reviews, Part IV, The Screenplay. REF PN2266.S15
These volumes plus the supplement, provide a bibliography of critical reviews of American and foreign feature films released from 1927-1980.
Full Text Reviews
Lexis Nexis Academic.Full-text database providing reviews from newspapers, magazines and transcripts. Dates of coverage vary depending on the individual publication, with most going back to the late 70's or 80's.
New York Times Film Reviews. 1913 - REF PN1995.N4
Reprints reviews appearing in the New York Times.
Slide, Anthony. Selected Film Criticism, REF PN1995.S426
Reprints reviews from selected periodicals covering films from 1896 to 1960.
Indexing and Abstracting Sources
The following sources, listed in alphabetical order, provide access to reviews in journals, magazines and newspapers.
Academic Search Premier. 1990 - present
Multidisciplinary database providing references and some full-text to film reviews. Access is by the name of the film.
Art Index. 1984 - present.
Indexes key international English-language arts publications. No longer contains abstracts as of 10/14/2001. Access is by the name of the film and type = form review.
Alternative Press Index. 1969 - . REF INDEX
Indexes alternative, radical, and independent periodicals. Access is by the term film reviews.
Alternative Press Index. Online 1991 - present.
Film Literature Index. 1973 - . REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. Access is by name of the film.
Humanities Index. 1974 - 1999 . REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 400 publications that make up the core literature in the field of humanities, including film. Access is under motion picture reviews - single works.
International Index to Film Periodicals. 1972 - . REF INDEX
Indexes approximately 85 periodicals from around the world. Access is by name of the film.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA). 1864-present (selective). Indexes more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and other materials such as conference papers, obituaries, biographical profiles, reviews, interviews and discographies.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. 1900 - . REF INDEX
The Times. (London). Index. 1906 - . REF INDEX
From 1906 to 1962, access is under the term cinematograph. From 1963, access is under the term films. For reviews from 1990 to the present, use Lexis Nexis Academic Universe listed above in the Full Text Reviews Section.
