Subject Guides - Engineering
This guide provides only selected resources for Engineering (Civil, Environmental, Mechanical). To find additional resources, utilize the links in the box to the right.Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Article Indexes
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (ASTA) 
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in space science, engineering, fire prevention, food industry, petroleum, textiles, and related fields. (Ebsco database)
Civil Engineering Databases (CEDB) Indexes/abstracts American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) documents published since 1973. Citations are included from journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines and newsletters.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Conference Papers Index Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts 
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
INSPEC (Ebsco) 
Indexes 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes: Computer & Control Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Physics Abstracts.
Web of Science The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
E-Journals
IEEE Xplore Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
Government Resources
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
Science Accelerator Search science resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
top of page
TOC and Document Delivery
As a supplement to Interlibrary Loan, faculty, graduate students and staff have access to the following Table of Contents/Document Delivery services.
Infotrieve Gateway Indexes & abstracts more than 35,000 scholarly journals in medicine, biotechnology, science, engineering, law and more. Library-subsidized, electronic document delivery for faculty, staff and graduate students.
ingenta Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the UnCover, ingenta and CatchWord databases. Articles NOT OWNED by the Library may be ordered for online delivery by faculty, staff and graduate students. Includes TOC and search alert services.
top of page
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guides, Handbooks
ASTM Dictionary of Engineering, Science & Technology, 2000.[REF TA402 .A86 2000]
Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering, 1996.[REF TJ9 .N28 1996]
Environmental Engineering Dictionary, 2005.[REF TD9 .L44]
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, 2003.[REF TA9 .M35 2003]
Wiley Dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction, 1997.[REF TA9 .W44 1997]
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, 2006.[REF TD9 .E5]
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 2002.[REF Q123.E497 2002 Vol 1-18]
- McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
online encyclopedia; part of the Gale Virtual Reference collection
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering, 1993.[REF TA9.M36 1993]
Guide to Information Sources in Engineering, 2000.[REF T10.7 .L67 2000]
Bridge Engineering Handbook, 2000.[REF TG145.B85 2000]
Civil Engineering Handbook, 1995.[REF TA151 .C57 1995]
- Corrosion Engineering Handbook
online handbook; part of the NetLibrary e-book collection
CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables, 2004.[REF TA151.C76 2004]
CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering, 2005.[REF TJ151 .C73 2005]
Environmental Engineers' Handbook, 1997.[REF TD145 .E574 1997]
- Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables
online handbook; part of the Knovel reference collection
Handbook of Structural Engineering, 1997.[REF TA 633.H36 1997]
Instrumentation Reference Book, 2003.[REF QC53.I574 2003]
Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: Concise guide for the professional engineer, 1998.[REF TA151.H424 1998]
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Guides
Handbooks
top of page
Patents
esp@cenet (European Patent Office) Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
USPTO Web Patent Database Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.
Standards
ASTM Standards on Disc Ask at Reference Desk for full-text on CD-ROM. Full text of 12,000+ standards. Use index disc (at Reference Desk) to identify standards covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment and more
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards
Search for standards information from over 600 national, foreign, regional and international bodies.
top of page
Professional Organizations
- American Academy of Environmental Engineers
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers
- Society of Automotive Engineers
