Mechanical Engineering Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Course Guides
Article Databases - Engineering
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
INSPEC (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
InspecŪ,provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Inspec coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
Computers and Applied Science Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in the engineering disciplines, computer theory and technology, including material concerning business and social implications of new developments.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
INSPEC (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
InspecŪ,provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Inspec coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
top of page
All Online Engineering Resources

