English Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Gergana Kostova
email: g.kostova@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3592
Article Databases
These resources provide access to scholarly journal articles, some of which are full-text
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Early Modern Women Database Coverage: 1500 to ca. 1800
Provides links to resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. Coverage 1500 to 1800. Includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century. Resources have been selected by librarians of the University of Maryland Libraries. The database includes bibliographic databases to full-text resources, images, and sound recordings. Most of the resources are free.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) 
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other reference sources in the humanities. The database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works.
Humanities Text Initiative Modern English Collection Coverage: 19th-20th cent. Works in English
Classic works from British and American writers.
JSTOR Coverage: varies
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
LION (Literature Online Complete) Coverage: varies
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.
Literature Resource Center Coverage: varies
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association - Ebsco) 
Coverage: 1963 - present
Indexes 4,000+ journals in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, rhetoric, dramatic arts, printing and publishing.
Project Muse Coverage: varies
Searchable full-text of select journals in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Treasures in Full: Shakespeare in Quarto On this site you will find the British Library's 93 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the theatres were closed in 1642. Includes background information, text comparisons, commentary on the plays and the historical context.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 1963-2006 Coverage: 1963-2006
The Bibliography provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical produc-tions & reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials produced 1963-2006.
top of page
All Online English Resources
