English Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Catalogs & Dissertations
- Biography & Criticism
- Explicators
- Poetry
- Websites
Online Bio/Bibliographical and Criticism Resources
These resources provide biographical material, a list of the writings of the author, and criticism.
Gale Literary Index Coverage: current
A master index to every literary series published by Gale. Search by a literary work's title or look for authors by name, birth date, death date, or nationality.
LION (Literature Online Complete) Coverage: varies
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.
Literary Encyclopedia and Literary Dictionary Lives and works of writers, major and minor. Provides topical essays. International in coverage.
Literature Resource Center Coverage: varies
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
top of page
Print Bio/Bibliographical and Criticism Resources
These print resources provide biographical material, a list of writings of the author, and criticism of authors. They also contain a list of additional places to locate criticism about both authors and their works. See also Literature Criticism and Author Biography
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism.
Location: REF PN761.N5 Vol 1-
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.
Location: REF PN771.G27 Vol 1-
Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Location: REF PN94.C6 Vol 1-
Shakespearan Criticism.
Location: REF PR2965.S44 Vol 1-
Year's Work in English Studies (see also MLA).
1929-present Incomplete.
Location: REF PE58.E6
top of page
All Online English Resources
