Subject Guides - Education
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Multidisciplinary Indexes
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
ArticleFirst Indexes journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
Subject-Specific Indexes
Education Abstracts Indexes/abstracts articles from major education journals. Topics include administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more.
ERIC (EBSCO) 
Indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). NOTE: ERIC Documents may be available online through EDRS or available on microfiche in the Library. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Statistics and other Web-based Tools
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being Report presents a statistical overview of the well-being of America's children. Topics include children's economic security, health, behavior and social environment and education. Contains data on demographic measures including child well-being.
Buros Test Review Locator Search for citations to reviews of educational and psychological tests and measures that appear in Mental Measurements Yearbooks (MMY), Tests in Print, and Test Critiques.
County and City Databook From the US Census Bureau. Summary demographic and vital statistics; employment, education, government, housing, production and weather data for states, counties, and all cities of 25,000+. See also C3.134/2. Most current ed. On RDYREF.
Department of Education Annual Publications Online versions of the Digest of Education Statistics and the Condition of Education from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). Print versions in 1st floor GovDocs stacks.
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) "The Nation's Report Card." Trends in achievement for all major subjects, grades K-12, by state. From National Center for Education Statistics.
Websites of Note
Educator's Reference Desk Full text of lesson plans and curriculum materials. Replaces the access ERIC Website.
TOC Alerts and Document Delivery
Graduate students may use these sources to search and order journal articles. Don't forget Interlibrary Loan for articles not available through these databases.
Infotrieve Gateway Indexes & abstracts more than 35,000 scholarly journals in medicine, biotechnology, science, engineering, law and more. Library-subsidized, electronic document delivery for faculty, staff and graduate students.
ingenta Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the UnCover, ingenta and CatchWord databases. Articles NOT OWNED by the Library may be ordered for online delivery by faculty, staff and graduate students. Includes TOC and search alert services.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories and Handbooks
The following are a few of the education resources available in the Reference Collection. Please feel free to browse the Reference shelves in the L- LC section for other, valuable resources
Alkin, Marvin C. Encyclopedia of educational research (sponsored by the American Educational Research Association), 1992.[Ref LB15 .E48 1992]
Klebba, Caryn E. Directory of American scholars, 2002.[Ref LA2311 .D57 2002]
The educator’s desk reference (EDR): a sourcebook of educational information and research , 1989.[Ref LB1028.27.U6 F74]
Jonassen, David H. Handbook of research on educational communications and technology, 2004.[Ref LB1028.3 .H355 2004]
Feczko, Margaret Mary. National guide to funding in higher education / edited by Margaret Mary Feczko, Ruth Kovacs & Carlotta Mills ; Zoe Waldron & Gina-Marie McCarty, project coordinators, 1994 .[ref LB2336 .N37 1994 ]
