Subject Guides - Business and Economics
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Indexes, Abstracts, and Full-Text Article Databases
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) 
Full-text of nearly 1,400 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
EconLit (Ebsco) 
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, books, collective volumes, dissertations, and working papers in Economics.
Economics Research Network (ERN) SSRN community for economics scholars, practitioners, and policymakers throughout the world. Includes job listings and links to NBER working papers. New users join here.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Full-text of working papers from NBER, a private, nonpartisan research organization. Research is conductied by more than 500 university professors around the country. Papers are listed by topic under "PROGRAMS"
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service 
Indexes journals, books, and government documents in the fields of political science, policy, public administration, society. Includes backfile in July 05 through June 06.
Regional Business News (Ebsco) 
A collection of full text newswires which incorporates news information from all over the world. Formerly Business Wire News. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Company Information (Electronic Resources)
Compustat Research Insight Compiled by S & P, Compustat contains 20 years of financial statements and market summaries on 11,000 North American companies. Only available in the Library.
SEC Filings & Forms (EDGAR) Electronic archive of reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission by publicly traded companies.
Thomas Register Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Includes product, company, and brand name searching and access to industry specific searching. No login needed.
Company Information (Print Resources)
These resources are available in the Reference Collection of the Library.
D&B Million Dollar Directory: America's Leading Public & Private Companies, Annual.[REF HC102 .D8]
International Directory of Company Histories, Varies.[REF HD2721 .D36]
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations, Annual.[REF HG4057 .A217]
Industry Information (Electronic Resources)
- County Business Patterns
Coverage: varies. An annual series that provides sub-national economic data by industry
- Industry and Market News
Coverage: varies. News from over 25 industries.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Coverage: varies. Outlines the U.S. government's system for classifying businesses into categories called NAICS codes, beginning with data collected in 1997.
Industry Information (Print Resources)
These resources are available in the Reference Collection of the Library.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys, Varies.[REF HC106.6 .S74]
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook, 2000.[DOCS C61.48:2000]
Economic Indicators
StatUSA Economic, business, and international trade information produced by the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce. Includes National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) and State of the Nation. Please see a Reference Librarian for access.
- American Factfinder
Coverage: varies. Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Census Bureau.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Coverage: varies. The major repository of employment statistics and consumer and producer price indexes.
- Economic Indicators
Coverage: 1995 - present. Monthly compilations of economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.
- Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Coverage: varies. Provides current economic indicators, including employment, income, trade, expenditures, imports, GDP, investments, CPI, PPI, housing, manufacturing, transportation, crime, health, and more.
International Economics (Electronic Resources)
- GLOBUS & National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
Coverage: varies. Includes economic, business, and international trade information. Please see a Reference Librarian for access.
- World Bank Group Data and Statistics
Coverage: varies. Includes economic, demographic, and social data by country and topic.
International Economics (Print Resources)
These resources are available in the Reference Collection of the Library
International Financial Statistics Yearbook, Annual.[REF HG61 .I57]
International Trade Statistics Yearbook, Annual.[REF HF91 .U473]
National Accounts of OECD Countries, 1964 to current.[REF HC79.I5 N376]
World Development Indicators, 1998 to current.[REF HC59.15 .W656]
Investments & Financial Markets (Electronic Resources)
- American Stock Exchange
Comprehensive resource for investors and issuers seeking the unique market environment offered at the American Stock Exchange
- Big Charts
Comprehensive investment research web site providing access to interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, and market news & commentary
- NASDAQ Stock Market
Quotes, maket activity, investor tools, and news related to the NASDAQ Market.
- New York Stock Exchange
Quotes, market information, and news related to the New York Stock Exchange.
Investments & Financial Markets (Print Resources)
These resources are available in the Reference Collection of the Library
Directory of World Stock Exchanges, 1988.[REF HG4551 .D53 ]
Handbook of Financial Market Indexes, Averages, and Indicators, 1990.[REF HG4636 .B49 ]
Mergent Bond Record, Ongoing.[REF HG4905 .M78 ]
Mergent Municipal & Government Manual, Ongoing.[REF HG4931 .M58]
Standard & Poor's Stock Reports, Ongoing.[REF HG4907.S72]
Value Line Investment Survey, Ongoing.[RDY REF HG4501 .V26]
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
These resources are available in the Library's Reference Collection on the 1st floor.
Beynon, Robert. The Routledge Critical Dictonary of Global Economics, 1999.[REF HB61 .R68]
Black, John. A Dictionary of Economics, 2002.[REF HB61 .B554]
Collin, P.H.. Dictionary of American Business, 2000.[REF HF1001 .O53]
Cross, Wilbur. Dictionary of Business Terms, 1999.[HF1001 .C68]
Friedman, Jack. Dictionary of Business Terms, 2000.[HF1001 .E466]
McNett, Jeanne. The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, 2005.[REF HD30.15 B455 (12 volumes)]
Malonis, Jane. Encyclopedia of Business, 2000.[HG1001 .E466]
Nobes, Christopher. The Penguin Dictionary of Accounting, 2002.[HF5621 .N63]
Professional Organizations
- Encyclopedia of Organizations
Check here for more business and economic associations and organizations.
- American Economic Association
Encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages freedom of economic discussion.
- American Mangagment Association
A global not-for-profit association that provides management development and educational services to individuals, companies and government agencies worldwide
- American Marketing Association
Offers a wide array of newly expanded information including research, case studies and best practices in marketing
- Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs
The Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs (EB) formulates and carries out U.S. foreign economic policy, integrating U.S. economic interests with our foreign policy goals.
- National Bureau of Economic Research
A private, non partisan research organization that promotes a greater understanding of how the economy works.
