Dance Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Eric Jeitner
email: ejeitner@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-2964
Article Databases
Use these searching tools to identify articles on your topic in journals, newspapers, and other sources.
SPORTDiscus (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
SPORTDiscus offers coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and references to articles in 60 different languages.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ERIC indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE)and Resources in Education(RIE), containing more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
JSTOR
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III; General Science; Ecology & Botany.
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
RILM is a comprehensive index to music publications from all over the world, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, criticism, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
America: History & Life (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
All Online Dance Resources

