Subject Guides - Dance
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Online Databases
Use these searching tools to identify articles on your topic in journals, newspapers, and other sources.
ERIC (EBSCO) 
Indexes Current Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). NOTE: ERIC Documents may be available online through EDRS or available on microfiche in the Library. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
JSTOR Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I, II, III, General Science, Ecology & Botany.
Music & Performing Arts Online It brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. It covers areas such as music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts
SPORT Discus (Ebsco) 
From the Sport Information Resource Centre. Indexes sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Web Sites
- American Ballet Theatre
This site features a dictionary of ballet terminology, dancer biographies, company archives with information about shows and choreographers, and more.
- Dance Links
Contains a list of dance resources arranged by broad category, including: dance companies, funding resources, dance schools, etc.
- International Dance Resources from Artslynx
Large list of dance resources arranged by major category, including competitions, dance therapy, employment, and more.
- New York Public Library's Selected Dance Resources on the Internet
Contains a large collection of online resources arranged by category, including: books, dance by subject, dance companies, dancer's health, education, research, and more.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Biographical Resources in Print
Barbara Naomi Cohen-Stratyner. Biographical Dictionary of Dance, 1992.[Ref GV1785.A1C58]
Valerie Preston-Dunlop. Dance Words, 1995.[Ref GV1585.F74]
Larry Billman. Film Choreographers and Dance Directors : An Illustrated Biographical Encyclopedia, 1997.[Ref GV1779.B55]
Martha Bremser, ed.. International Dictionary of Ballet, 1993.[Ref GV1585.I57]
Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf, ed. International Dictionary of Modern Dance, 1998.[Ref GV1585.B46]
Selma Jeanne Cohen, ed. International Encyclopedia of Dance, 1998.[Ref GV1585.I586]
Professional Organizations
These organizations may help you in whatever you're doing.- Dance Support Organizations
This site contains an extensive list of links to professional, scholarly, recreational, educational, and discipline based dance organizations.
