Media & Communications Studies Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3604
Course Guides
Alerts
Article Databases- Communications & Media
Databases for finding journal articles on media and communications.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
CMMC offer indexing and abstracts for more 770 titles, including full text for over 480 journals dating as far back as 1915. CMMC also contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.
Communication Abstracts
Coverage: 1998
Citations and abstracts for articles in 80+ journals in Communication.
Humanities International Complete (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records with full text for more than 1,200 journals.
CQ Researcher Online
Coverage: 1923-
CQ Researcher (formerly Editorial Research Reports).In-depth coverage of health, social trends, national and international topics. Includes maps, charts, statistics. Published weekly.
top of page
Article Databases- Literature & Criticism
Databases for finding literary criticism, reviews, and biographical material including articles on film, television and radio contributors.
Literature Resource Center
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Dictionary of Literary Biography(DLB) and full-text of 34 literary journals.
LION (Literature Online Complete)
Coverage: varies
Includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-present.
top of page
Article Databases- Music & Performing Arts
Databases for finding articles on music and the performing arts, including film, television and radio.
Music & Performing Arts Online
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text from the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), covering music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
CAIRSS Music Index
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the research literature on music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music in medicine containing citations to every article published in 18 primary journals, additional citations to selected articles from more than one thousand journals. Produced by the faculty and staff of the University of Texas at San Antonio.
Article Databases- Business
The primary database for articles on all aspects of business.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Business Source Premier indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.
top of page
All Online Media & Communications resources

