Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE) Subject Guide
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Drew Alfgren
email: alfgren@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-3608
Course Guides
Alerts
- New: IEEE Citations,
- style manual
-author Toolbox
-Citation reference - New: ACM LaTex style guide
- New: Grad Students Help Page
Article Databases & Professional Literature & Collections
Access full-text literature published by relevant professional societies and publishers.
ACM Digital Library
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search across Journals, Magazines, Transactions, Proceedings (including USENIX), Newsletters and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) in the ACM Digital Library. Now includes indexing for non-ACM publications: use Find It for full text availability.
AMS Electronic Journals
Coverage: varies
Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
IEEE Xplore
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
SpringerLink
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides access from 1997-present to Springer journals and books focusing on science, technology and medicine with some coverage in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: full-text access is only available on titles subscribed to by UMBC.
top of page
Article Databases - Computer & Information Technology
Indexes & abstracts the computer and information science literature.
Computer Science Index (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. The collection covers more than 6,500 computer science periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s.
Computer Source (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing and developments in business, the Internet, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
MathSci Net
Coverage: Index Only
Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
top of page
Article Databases - Engineering & Applied Science
Indexes & abstracts the related engineering and technology literature.
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
INSPEC (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Inspec®,provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature. Inspec coverage includes journals, conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
Engineering Pathway
The Engineering Pathway is a portal to high-quality teaching and learning resources in engineering, applied science and math, computer science/information technology, and engineering technology and is designed for use by K-12 and university educators and students. Resources include support for ABET accreditation, research and scholarship, curricula development and extracurricular activities for students.
top of page
Article Databases - Patent
Search for patents and patent applications in the US and worldwide.
esp@cenet (European Patent Office)
Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
USPTO Web Patent Database
Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.
top of page
Article Databases - Dissertations & Theses
Search for citations and full text of dissertations and theses written in the US and worldwide.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Also includes links to other useful ETD search tools.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Coverage: current
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan
Coverage: Index Only
The national digital library in Taiwan provides open access to the index of thesis and dissertations published by universities in Taiwan.
Hong Kong LIS Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC) is an online union collection of Hong Kong postgraduate students’ doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the online catalogs of seven university libraries in Hong Kong. Includes some online full text.
JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Developed at the National Institute of Informatics, JAIRO provides partial free full text access to millions of academic resources, including journal/conference articles, theses and dissertations, research reports, books, from hundreds of research institutions in Japan.
top of page
All Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE) Resources

