Subject Guides - Computer Science & Electrical Engineering (CSEE)
This is a selective list of resources including both article indexes and carefully selected websites. Please consult the other disciplinary subject guides for additional resources.Contents
Professional Literature DatabasesComputer & Information Technology Databases
Engineering & Applied Science Databases
Online Catalogs
Patent Databases
Reference Resources
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Professional Literature Databases
Access full-text literature published by relevant professional societies.
ACM Digital Library Search across Journals, Magazines, Transactions, Proceedings (including USENIX), Newsletters and Special Interest Groups (SIGs) in the ACM Digital Library.
AMS Electronic Journals Search or browse select journals from the American Mathematical Society.
IEEE Xplore Provides full-text access to IEEE journals and magazines from 1988-present, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards.
top of page
Computer & Information Technology Databases
Indexes & abstracts the computer and information science literature.
Computer Science Index (Ebsco) 
Indexes/abstracts academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. Formerly Computer Literature Index.
Computer Source (Ebsco) 
Indexes 450+ and contains the full-text of 300+ publications in computer science and high technology.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) - EBSCO Indexes/abstracts 450+ publications in classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, Internet search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, electronic publishing.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (Ebsco) 
Indexes/abstracts literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Formerly Microcomputer Abstracts.
MathSci Net Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. The core index/abstract of mathematics.
top of page
Engineering & Applied Science Databases
Indexes & abstracts the related engineering and technology literature.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (ASTA) 
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in space science, engineering, fire prevention, food industry, petroleum, textiles, and related fields. (Ebsco database)
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
INSPEC (Ebsco) 
Indexes 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes: Computer & Control Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Physics Abstracts.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
top of page
Online Catalogs
Search for library holdings outside the USM, dissertations, e-books.
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
netLibrary A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
WorldCat Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
top of page
Patent Databases
Search for patents and patent applications in the US and worldwide.
esp@cenet (European Patent Office) Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
USPTO Web Patent Database Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.
top of page
Reference Resources
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, citation searching. Web of Science offers the online EndNote program.
Credo Reference (formerly Xrefer plus) It includes 100 general reference titles, covering the spectrum from arts, business, biography, geography, history, language & linguistics, social sciences, science and technology, law, literature. Now includes Britannica and other encyclopedias.
MathWorld MathWorld is a comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.
Web of Science The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
