Chemistry & Biochemistry Subject Guide
Websites - General & Analytical Chemistry
ChemExper
Find chemical suppliers and simple chemical properties in the ChemExper chemical directory. Use advanced search to search for chemicals by structure, boiling point, melting point, density, and more.
WebElements
Searchable periodic chart of the elements with in-depth information on each element.
Analytical Sciences Digital Library (ASDL)
The ASDL is a peer-reviewed digital library for the analytical sciences. Sections include analytical techniques, applications, teaching resources, experiments, tutorials, and much more.
ChemID plus
A database of over 370,000 chemical records, including over 230,000 with structures. Find synonyms, structures, registry numbers, formulas, properties, and toxicity information. Search by name, structure, CAS Registry Number, chemical property, toxicity, or molecular weight.
General Chemistry Online
Excellent guide for first-year chemistry students. Includes tutorials, simulations, and glossary of chemical terms.
WorldWideScience.org: the global science gateway
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world.
top of page
Websites - Organic & Biochemistry
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine
Searchable databases including: Nucleotide Sequence (GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB), Protein Sequence, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, and many more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Enzyme Database - BRENDA
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. Contents include: nomenclature, reaction & specificity, functional parameters, enzyme structure, isolation & preparation, and more.
IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry
Online version of the IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry "Blue Book".
Organic Chemistry Portal
The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on the most important chemicals. Includes job market and links to chemical resources and suppliers.
Protein Data Bank
Worldwide depository of information about the three-dimensional structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
top of page
Websites - Physical & Inorganic Chemistry
NIST Physical Reference
Physical Constants, Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopic Data, Ionization Data, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data, Nuclear Physics Data, Condensed Matter Physics Data, and more.
Elemental Data Index
Select an element in the periodic table to display: atomic weight, ionization energy, ground-state level, and ground-state configuration. Also provides links to atomic spectra, x-ray and gamma ray data, and other nuclear physics data. Provided by NIST.
top of page
Websites - Spectroscopy
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, including: electron impact Mass spectra (EI-MS); Fourier transform infrared spectra (FT-IR); 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectra; 13C NMR spectra; laser Raman spectra; electron spin resonance (ESR) spectra. From the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
SpectroscopyNOW.com
Free spectroscopy portal covering all aspects of spectroscopy. Includes news, techniques, information, resources, and services.
NIST X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database
Searchable database of over 22,000 line positions, chemical shifts, doublet splittings, and energy separations of photoelectron and Auger-electron lines. Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
NIST Atomic Spectra Database
This database provides access and search capability for NIST critically evaluated data on atomic energy levels, wavelengths, and transition probabilities.
top of page
Websites - Safety & Toxicology
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
100 free internet sources for MSDS, which contain physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures for many substances.
Scorecard: the Pollution Information Site
Search for information about hazardous chemicals and pollution in your community, including toxic chemical releases, air pollutants, and water pollutants.
EMCI Chemical References
Search the full text of the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) Major Program Systems webpages. Data on hazardous materials and their manufacturers.
ToxNet
Includes Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Toxic Chemical Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, Genetic Toxicology, and others.
Toxicant and Disease Database
Provided by the The Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE), the Toxicant and Disease Database is a searchable database that summarizes links between chemical contaminants and approximately 180 human diseases or conditions.
All Online Chemistry & Biochemistry Resources


