Chemistry Subject Guide
* UMBC Affiliates only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Janet Hack
email: jhack@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-8130
Article Databases - Chemistry
Analytical WebBase Coverage: 1980 - present
Electronic version of Analytical Abstracts. Indexes and abstracts books, technical reports and over 250 core international journals in analytical chemistry. Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
CrossFire Commander: Beilstein & Gmelin (download/installation instructions) Coverage: 1772 - present
Beilstein covers more than 6 million organic compounds, plus more than 5 million reactions. Find physical and chemical data, spectral information, and more.
Gmelin covers over 1.4 million inorganic compounds, including polymers, ceramics, minerals and alloys. May include: material composition and structural data, preparation and reaction details, condensed phase data, spectroscopy, etc.
Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
Medline (EBSCO) 
Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field.
PubMed (Free Medline) Coverage: 1966 - present
Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field. Free online version includes Lonesome Doc document delivery service, PubMed and Internet Grateful Med.
SciFinder Scholar (download/installation instructions) Coverage: 1907-present
SciFinder Scholar provides online access to several databases, including: Chemical Abstracts, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. NOTE: Use of SciFinder Scholar is limited to current UMBC students, faculty, and staff ONLY. Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7. Ask at a service desk for assistance using SciFinder Scholar in the library.
top of page
Article Databases - Engineering
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Coverage: 1969 - present
Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management 
Coverage: 1967 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Gateway Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: full reports are not available online. Please contact a librarian if you wish to acquire one.
top of page
Article Databases - Toxicology
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management 
Coverage: 1967 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Toxicology Abstracts 
Coverage: 1981 - present
Indexes/abstracts the literature of toxicology, including social poisons, substance abuse, natural toxins, legislation, standards, and environmental issues. Part of CSA Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
Toxline 
Coverage: 1997 - present
Indexes/abstracts all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This version does not contain information from CAS, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.
top of page
Article Databases - Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) 
Coverage: varies
Provides full-text for over 3,400 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, sciences, and more. Funded by the Maryland Digital Library (MDL).
Science Resource Center (Gale) Is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. It reflects curriculum trends and focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms including biology, chemistry, physics, etc
Web of Knowledge Coverage: 1998-present
The Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
top of page
Article Databases - Patents
esp@cenet (European Patent Office) Coverage: 1920-present
Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
USPTO Web Patent Database Coverage: 1790 - present
Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.
top of page
Article Databases - Electronic Journal Collections
Some of the resources above include full-text from electronic journals as well as ASCII full-text. Here are some more ejournal providers. See Also: E-journals in Chemistry & Biochemistry.
ACS Electronic Journals Coverage: 1996 - present
Full-text of all journals published by the American Chemical Society. Legacy Archives include articles published between 1879 and 1996.
BioOne Coverage: varies
Provides full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, most published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Coverage: 1995 - present
Over 100 searchable, full-text journals in many different fields.
Royal Society of Chemistry E-Journals Full text of all journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
top of page
All Online Chemistry & Biochemistry Resources
