Subject Guides - Chemistry & Biochemistry
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Databases
Analytical WebBase Electronic version of Analytical Abstracts. Indexes and abstracts books, technical reports and over 250 core international journals in analytical chemistry. Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Chemical Abstracts (via STNEasy) Online access to Chemical Abstracts 5PM - 5AM. No login / password is needed. Click the "Start Your Session" button to begin searching.
CrossFire Beilstein (download/installation instructions) Covers more than 6 million organic compounds, plus more than 5 million reactions. Find physical and chemical data, spectral information, and more. Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
CrossFire Gmelin (download/installation instructions) Covers over 1.4 million inorganic compounds, including polymers, ceramics, minerals and alloys. May include: material composition and structural data, preparation and reaction details, condensed phase data, spectroscopy, etc. installed on computers on floors 1 - 7.
Medline (EBSCO) 
Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field.
PubMed (Free Medline) Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field. Free online version includes Lonesome Doc document delivery service, PubMed and Internet Grateful Med.
SciFinder Scholar (download/installation instructions) SciFinder Scholar provides online access to several databases, including: Chemical Abstracts, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. NOTE: Use of SciFinder Scholar is limited to current UMBC students, faculty, and staff ONLY. Installed on computers on floors 1 - 7. Ask at a service desk for assistance using SciFinder Scholar in the library.
Toxicology Abstracts 
Indexes/abstracts the literature of toxicology, including social poisons, substance abuse, natural toxins, legislation, standards, and environmental issues. Part of CSA Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
Web of Science The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
Databases (Engineering)
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (ASTA) 
Indexes and abstracts periodicals in space science, engineering, fire prevention, food industry, petroleum, textiles, and related fields. (Ebsco database)
Compendex (via Engineering Village 2) Indexes the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 5,000 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. You may set up a profile, save searches, and have search results emailed bi-weekly.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts 
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
top of page
Electronic Journals
Some of the resources above include full-text from electronic journals as well as ASCII full-text. Here are some more ejournal providers. See Also: E-journals in Chemistry & Biochemistry.
ACS Electronic Journals Full-text of all journals published by the American Chemical Society. Legacy Archives include articles published between 1879 and 1996.
BioOne Provides full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, most published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Over 100 searchable, full-text journals in many different fields.
Royal Society of Chemistry E-Journals Full text of all journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
top of page
Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts (Proquest Digital Dissertations) Indexes U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full Dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available in PDF digital format.
top of page
TOC Alerts and Document Delivery
Use these resources to search and order technical reports and journal articles. Don't forget InterLibrary Loan.
Infotrieve Gateway Indexes & abstracts more than 35,000 scholarly journals in medicine, biotechnology, science, engineering, law and more. Library-subsidized, electronic document delivery for faculty, staff and graduate students.
ingenta Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the UnCover, ingenta and CatchWord databases. Articles NOT OWNED by the Library may be ordered for online delivery by faculty, staff and graduate students. Includes TOC and search alert services.
top of page
Patents
esp@cenet (European Patent Office) Searchable databases provided by the European Patent Office including: Patent Abstracts of Japan, European Patents (EP), and The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes English translations of patent descriptions.
USPTO Web Patent Database Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images every US patent issued since 1790. Note: Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Use patent fetcher to convert tiff files to pdf.
