Biological Sciences Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Handbooks
- Internet Resource
- Professional Organization
BioScience Resources
A selected listing of bioscience resources on the Internet.
Biology Browser This free web site offers resources for the life sciences information community.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Coverage: current
Source of new and classic biomedical research techniques. Currently it contains over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology and it covers cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine Coverage: varies
Searchable databases including: Nucleotide Sequence (GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB), Protein Sequence, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, and many more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Enzyme Database - BRENDA BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. Contents include: nomenclature, reaction & specificity, functional parameters, enzyme structure, isolation & preparation, and more.
GenBank Coverage: varies
Entrez (DNA and protein sequence data, 3D structure data, and associated MEDLINE entries), BLAST (sequence similarity search tool), dbEST (Database of Expressed Sequence Tags), and dbSTS (Database of Sequence Tagged Sites). By NCBI.
Protein Data Bank Coverage: current
Worldwide depository of information about the three-dimensional structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
The Biology Project Coverage: current
The Biology Project is an interactive online resource for learning biology, developed at The University of Arizona. Units include: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Mendelian Genetics, and Molecular Biology.
Vadlo Coverage: current
Vadlo is a search engine designed for biology research. Search for protocols, online tools, seminar presentations, databases, and software.
Background Information
Start your research by reviewing general background infomation on broad topics of interest in the biological sciences- Action Bioscience
Articles by scientists, science educators, and science students on issues related to seven bioscience challenges: environment, biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, new frontiers in science, and bioscience education.
- Science Issues
Topical issues on which the Royal Society has conducted a study, issued a science brief, held a meeting, issued a press release...
- Science.gov
Authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- WWW Virtual Library: Biosciences
Extensive list of on-line bioscience resources arranged by specific subject area.
top of page
All Online Biology Resources
