Biological Sciences Subject Guide
- Article Databases
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Handbooks
- Internet Resource
- Professional Organization
Off-campus access: UMBC Students, Faculty, & Staff only
Contact YOUR Librarian:
Shu Qian
email: qian@umbc.edu
phone: 410-455-1783
Course Guides
- Bio 454/654 - Vision Science
- Bio 483/683 - Evolution
- Bio 457/657 - Physiology of Marine and Estuarine Animals
Alert
Most Used
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Medline (EBSCO)
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Web of Knowledge
Coverage: Index Only
Multidisciplinary database covering the Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Indexes over 8,000 high impact research journals, many of them peer-reviewed, and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage through the "Additional Resources" tab.
EndNote Web citation management software also available through Web of Knowledge
PubMed (Free Medline)
Coverage: Index Only
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes peer-reviewed articles, case reports, clinical trials, and much more. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Other Databases
Agricola
Online index of the National Agriculture Library. Locate journal articles, conference papers, books, audiovisuals, and other resources covering all aspects of agriculture and related science, including: laws & regulations, crops, livestock, research & technology, food & nutrition, marketing, trade, and more.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. (Microbiology A in print) A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Bacteriology Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts medically-oriented literature in bacterial immunology, vaccinations, and the diseases of man and animals; includes clinical findings and all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.(Microbiology B in print) A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Biotechnology Research Abstracts (CSA)
Coverage: Index Only
Indexes and abstracts world literature on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. A subset of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Coverage: current
Source of new and classic biomedical research techniques. Currently it contains over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology and it covers cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
top of page
All Online Biology Resources

