Subject Guides - Biological Sciences
Use catalogusmai
Find Electronic Journals:Use Research Port
Off Campus Access: Borrow From Other Libraries: Contact YOUR Librarian:Background Information
Start your research by reviewing general background infomation on broad topics of interest in the biological sciences- Action Bioscience
Articles by scientists, science educators, and science students on issues related to seven bioscience challenges: environment, biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, new frontiers in science, and bioscience education.
- Science Issues
Topical issues on which the Royal Society has conducted a study, issued a science brief, held a meeting, issued a press release...
- Science.gov
Authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- WWW Virtual Library: Biosciences
Extensive list of on-line bioscience resources arranged by specific subject area.
Databases
Use the following databases to find scholarly articles for biological sciences topics
Agricola Search for journal articles, conference papers, books, audiovisuals, and other resources covering all aspects of agriculture and related sciences held by the National Agriculture Library.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 
Indexes/abstracts literature in bacterial immunology, vaccinations, and the diseases of man and animals; includes clinical findings and all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
Biological Abstracts Indexes/abstracts 5,000+ journals in the biological sciences.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts 
Indexes and abstracts world literature in which molecular biology and genetics are applied to biotechnological techniques in the food industry, agriculture, and the environment. Formerly known as Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Industrial and Applied Microbiology (Microbiology A) 
Indexes/abstracts findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
Medline (EBSCO) 
Indexes/abstracts more than 3,200 journals from the biomedical field.
Web of Science The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers approximately 8,700 high impact research journals and provides access to cited and citing references. Additional searchable resources on the Web of Knowledge homepage (select from dropdown menu).
top of page
Web Resources
A selected listing of bioscience resources on the web.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Source of new and classic biomedical research techniques. Currently it contains over 700 methods in molecular and cell biology and it covers cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Computational Molecular Biology at NIH Analytical tools, databases, lab protocols, and reference sources in molecular biology. Provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
EcoCyc Encyclopedia of Escherichia coli K12 Genes and Metabolism: a searchable database describing the genome and the biochemical machinery of E. coli K-12.
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine Searchable databases including: Nucleotide Sequence (GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB), Protein Sequence, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, and many more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
GenBank Entrez (DNA and protein sequence data, 3D structure data, and associated MEDLINE entries), BLAST (sequence similarity search tool), dbEST (Database of Expressed Sequence Tags), and dbSTS (Database of Sequence Tagged Sites). By NCBI.
Human Anatomy Online Interactive manual of human anatomy. Over one hundred illustrations and thousands of descriptions.
ITIS - Integrated Taxonomic Information System Database of species names and their hierarchical classification, focusing on the biota of North America.
National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) The NBII links diverse, high-quality biological databases, information products, and analytical tools maintained by NBII partners and other contributors in government agencies, academic institutions, non-government organizations, and private industry.
Protein Data Bank Worldwide depository of information about the three-dimensional structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
The Biology Project The Biology Project is an interactive online resource for learning biology, developed at The University of Arizona. Units include: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Mendelian Genetics, and Molecular Biology.
top of page
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Please browse the Reference shelves in the QH-QR and R-RZ sections for other valuable resources.
A dictionary of genetics, 2006.[REF QH427 K55]
Collins dictionary of biology[in the Credo online reference collection]
McGraw-Hill dictionary of bioscience. 2nd ed, 2003.[REF QH302.5 M382 2003]
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology, 2000.[REF QD415 A25O94 2000]
Encyclopedia of life sciences, 2002.[REF QH302.5 E525 2002]
Encyclopedia of toxicology, 1998.[REF RA1193 E53 1998]
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia, 2003.[REF QL7 G7813 2003]
Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution , 2002.[REF QH541.15 B56L54 2002]
McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of bioscience , 2005.[REF QH302.5 M378 2005]
McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of science & technology[in the Gale online reference collection]
CRC handbook of toxicology, 1995.[REF RA1215.C73 1995]
Handbook of comparative genomics : principles and methodology, 2003.[REF QH447 S23 2003]
Cell biology: a laboratory handbook. 3rd ed., 2006.[REF QH583.2 C45 2006]
